Weight Gain…The Side Effect

11834504_3cc3c49559_n

Did I mention that I teach Pilates and fitness classes? Of course you’d never know by the look of me at the moment. I’ve taught classes for over 20 years, but had to drop teaching cardio-type classes because my body wasn’t always up for that challenge.

While I really do feel yoga and Pilates help reduce my muscles stiffness and fatigue, I’m at the point where I’m looking in the mirror and wanting to cry. I’ve never been heavy. In fact, I was always underweight. Four days after the birth of my son, I was back in a size 1. God I hate that old me at the moment!

As many of you know, one category of drugs that doctors prescribe for chronic pain are in the anti-depressant family. While I don’t suffer from depression, I’ve been known to have anxiety. I broke down and discussed this with my doctor a year ago and we chose Celexa. In the beginning, I wasn’t hungry at all. In fact, I lost weight.

I’m not sure when I started gaining, but clearly I didn’t wake up this way one morning. It happened over time. I am currently on Plaquenil, Celexa, and Flexeril daily, and I have to publicly admit that I’m like 40 pounds over weight. I am seriously in tears as I type this. I feel awful, and I’m sure the extra weight isn’t helping with the joint pain. I’m hoping with this public admission that I can start to work on the problem.

I have been on more than one round of prednisone, and on top of being really crabby (way more than usual), it made me blow up. I’m waiting for it to go away…. Still waiting….

I’m looking for some support from Autoimmune Mama readers. What meds are you taking and did you gain weight? It’s hard enough feeling like crap, but feeling that you look like crap is a whole different ballgame.

If you’re in the same boat, what are you doing to lose weight?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. posipesi
    Jan 18, 2014 @ 09:35:03

    I hear you on this 100%, and I have cried in my Dr office many times about this exact thing. . I can’t lose weight right now, and I decided to worry more about getting healthy enough to be comfortable with myself. Overweight doesn’t always mean you’re unhealthy, and remember that the you that you see today is only temporary. You’ll figure things out, and stress doesn’t help an attempt at weight loss. You’ll get this! Don’t forget to love yourself how you are. Would you be so harsh on others that you love? We are our own worst critics.

    My sister has lupus, was on almost the exact regime (i don’t remember the doses – too long ago) and she gained 30 lbs in a matter of weeks. We got her healthy, and it melted away. Me, on the other hand, I just keep gaining. I’ve felt so awful, but I’m trying to live my body as it is. Be kind to me! I decided to go on a makeup strike recently to remind myself that my body isn’t me. I felt weird the first day or so, but now I feel very comfortable. You are not the weight you gained, you are not your illness. With 40 extra pounds or not, it didn’t change your soul. I wish you happiness!

    Reply

  2. Dead Men Don't Snore
    Jan 18, 2014 @ 14:27:07

    I gained over 3 stone (50 ibs) while taking migraine/anti-seizure medications. I had to ask to be switched to other meds in the end as I couldn’t afford to gain any more weight but the substitutes have never been quite so effective and several years later I still haven’t managed to shift the extra weight.

    Reply

  3. Miss Soul
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 01:40:52

    You are not alone.
    I gained 30 pounds so far, courtesy of Prednisone. I do not even recognize myself these days, it’s like looking at a stranger. The ONLY upside to the weight gain was that all the wrinkles magically disappeared.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

