I Need a Tropical Island

3331703807_c50a6f8741_n

As you might have read in my previous blog, it’s very cold here. With the windchill it’s about -10. I was surprised that I had such a good day in terms of pain yesterday, but it hit in full force this morning. Lately I’ve been waking with my right hand stuck in a curved position. My fingers just won’t move and it’s quite painful.

I immediately reach for my heating pad to warm my hands, but today even that didn’t do the trick. The kids had a 2-hour-delay so that made for a disruptive morning. As crazy as our morning routine is, I get everyone up and out the door on time. This morning when they had time to spare, everyone was slow as can be, and getting fresh with each other and with me. It made for a fun morning.

By the time everyone was on the bus, the pain in my hip was very intense and I opted to go back to bed and work from there. I have the luxury of working from home, but people often take that to mean I’m napping all day or watching the soaps while eating bon-bons. Guess what? The Young & The Restless can often be found on in the background, but that doesn’t mean I’m not working.

The thing about working from home is that you’re never off duty. Last night I wrote my blog at 11PM, just after I finished a job for a client. I don’t have 9-5 hours, and at this point with my fibromyalgia, RA, and everything else, I don’t think I could sit at a desk for 8 hours. I can take a nap on the days that I’m overly exhausted. I can sit on the couch with my heated blanket. I can get up and play with my cats when they want me to!

But…I do work! I blog for several clients. I do social media work, and I’m an editor. At the end of the day when the house is just as messy as it was when everyone leaves in the morning, I do get the stink eye look of “what did you do all day?” It’s called work! Yes, some of my work is on Facebook…but I’m still working.

Anyway, back to my island. I could really use a tropical island today. My hands are an awful shade of white from the Raynaud’s syndrome, and my whole body hurts. I feel like if I could have a few days of sunshine and warmth, I would feel so much better. That’s not going to happen any time soon, though.

How are you all feeling today?

Leave a Reply

