Ok Fine, It’s Not a Good Day

5451287300_9b3263228c_n

Today had some good moments. My daughter had her first practice for a play in which she has a small part. I so enjoyed seeing her perform. My son finished a huge project for school and I’m so proud of how hard he worked. So, contrary to what my friend,whom I haven’t spoken to in days, thinks; I do see many of the positive things around. I know I’m blessed, and I know things could be worse.

But holy crap, I’m in an enormous amount of pain right now. I doesn’t help that it’s -2 without the windchill. It doesn’t help that I shoveled the driveway yesterday to prove I could do it. But, as far as I’m concerned, even without those extra reasons, I could feel like hell today just because of my autoimmune issues.

Having fibromyalgia and RA, I don’t need to do one particular thing to aggravate my joints and cause muscle pain. It could just be a typical Wednesday night, but there is a part of me that still feels like I need to explain WHY I’m in pain. People are looking for that reason. Do you do too much? Did you sleep on your hands to cause that swelling?

No and no. This is just what like is like dealing with an autoimmune disease. I could be fine one day and miserable the next. It’s particularly difficult because I’m one of those people that moves along in high gear. When it takes me a minute to get out of a chair and stand up, it’s darn frustrating. Tonight, I’m walking around the house like a 90-year-old woman, hunched over and limping.

I think it’s the unknown that frustrates me the most. I can’t predict how I’m going to feel tomorrow. I can guess based on today, but it would just be a guess. It certainly makes it difficult to plan anything.

I’d love to hear any tips or tricks that help you get through the bad days. I’ll compile them all into a blog. You can either comment directly on this blog post or use our Contact Us form. What works for one person may not work for the next, but we’re all fighting this battle and if something helps even one person, it’s worth a shot.

Peace out! My heating pads are calling me.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. twistedrandall
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 13:49:54

    Please don’t let one person bring you down. You have to realize, people can listen even when they don’t understand. This person will continue to be your ear if you need it. Just tell them you created a blog, not only to complain, but more of a place to say how you are feeling physically and mentally. It also helps you connect with people that have the same thing. I had to look back over my conversations with a good friend and see if my ra was the main part of our conversations most of the time, or just sometimes. When I realized this was all I was talking about, I started every conversation with a question about her. Not saying that is what happened with you, ra can be awful. No matter what, feel free to complain and rant to us who understand and remember to laugh.

    Reply

  2. charleen bekker
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 17:20:42

    I feel for you! Tonight is especially bad for me to, I think… I know I overplayed with my almost three year old and it hurts! joys of RA xxx I love my heating pads ( I am in south africa and my twin is the UK – she sent it to me last year and it’s priceless) tonight is going to be one of those nights that as soon as my daughter goes down I am going to updose on my meds (those ones u take above and beyond ur normal doses) xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

