The Suck Just Keeps Coming…

IMG_1154

Did I mention my kitchen pipe was frozen? Yeah, well, it thawed out around 3AM and I didn’t hear anything until about 4AM. That made for a nice flood of two inches in the kitchen (there were dishes in the sink). It also ran through the ceiling downstairs into my newly finished basement. From there my morning consisted of using towels and a shop vac. I rented two large dryers from Home Depot and then went back to bed for a few hours.

The picture on this blog is my hands early this morning, all swollen and painful. I can tell you the last thing I felt like doing at 4AM was getting water out of my house, but it’s not really like I had the luxury of saying “no, thanks”.

After I was able to nap for a few hours, today got a little better. I was able to make it to part of my son’s wrestling tournament and see him win a match. I’m new to wrestling, but if you’ve never been to a tournament, it’s a long day of standing around and waiting. I was able to find a chair, but #3 wanted to sit on my lap the whole time.

I feel silly saying I’m exhausted from sitting around watching kids wrestle for most of the day, but it’s the truth. Sometimes just getting out of the house is a big event. Anyway, I’m glad I was able to see him and he came in 4th for his weight class…not bad for his first season. I don’t know if he’ll do it again, but I think it was good for his confidence. He let his anxiety take over before his third match, and I can’t help myself for passing that on to him. As a child my nerves always got in the way of me trying out for things or doing sports. I think he has the ability to be good, but he hasn’t truly realized that yet.

We’re getting a little more snow, which might be the reason for my migraine. I’m like a human barometer. I just took some meds for it and I’m looking forward to just relaxing and going to bed early. Exhaustion doesn’t even describe how I feel.

Leave a Reply

