Ready, Set, Go…Gluten Free

Photo by Fritish

Photo by Fritish

That’s right, I made the commitment. I’m trying a gluten-free diet for the next month to see if it helps with inflammation and pain. I managed to ask the question on some Facebook pages of whether or not people have seen a difference with their autoimmune issues by moving to a gluten-free diet.

The answers were both yes and no, which was a little frustrating, but I feel like I’m ready to be proactive and try this out. I went to the grocery store today and stocked up on a lot of fruits and vegetables, as well as gluten-free pasta, cereal, crackers, chips, and other snacks. I have to be able to grab a quick snack here and there in order to make this work. If I can’t look in my pantry and immediately see a gluten-free choice, I’ll grab some Cheese-Its or something like that.

Interestingly, a lot of people are telling me to go dairy free as well, but I don’t see that happening…at least yet. I am not a milk drinker, but I like cheese. I love ricotta cheese, cheddar, and I also use Greek yogurt in my morning smoothie. I’m doing baby steps with this.

What help sway me to start this challenge was the way I have been feeling for the past few days. My hands are stuck in a curved position all morning. My hip is excruciating and I have a lot of pain in my lower back.

I have an appointment with my rheumatologist on March 11th, and I want to be able to say that I gave this a real shot to see if it would help. I realize the next logical step is for me to go back on some kind of medication, other than the muscle relaxers, but I’m trying to go as long as I can before doing that.

I have a lot less pain in the summer. This winter has been complete hell with the frigid temperatures and all the snow. I think we’re actually getting more snow tomorrow!

So I’ll be blogging as I go on this gluten-free adventure. I’ve been on Pinterest all afternoon finding recipes that look good. I think where I will come up short is in the sweets or baked goods department. I’m not a baker to begin with, so adding more ingredients that I’ve never tried doesn’t sound like that much fun. For now, I’m sticking to Jello, oh and I totally found a list of acceptable gluten-free candies. I wouldn’t be able to do this if it meant no chocolate. We all have our limits and that’s mine. I don’t want to be in a world with no chocolate.

Tonight I made chili, which my current recipe was already gluten free. I bought some chips that are made of flax, quinoa, and some other grains that I have never heard of and I’m going to make up some fresh guacamole to watch the Super Bowl.

I actually have an empty house tonight. The kids are at my sister-in-law’s for a Super Bowl party and I opted not to go because my I’m in pain and I wasn’t feeling up to it. My cat Cheeto and I are snuggled up and the game is on in the background, but I am not exactly a fan. I have more interest when I have participated in a Super Bowl pool in the past. At least that gave me a reason to watch. Right now, I could care less, but I’m choosing the Broncos for the win.

Ugh…just as I typed this my 8-year-old just called for me to come pick her up because she’s bored. I’m seeing a Disney movie in our future.

Leave a Reply

