Great…More Snow!

pringles

It’s snowing again, and I really don’t want to hear that is what I should expect for New England. We have about 5 inches of snow as of now, and we have 8-12 more coming on Wednesday. I won’t even mention the storm they are predicting for the weekend, mostly because I’m having a birthday party for my daughter who will be crushed if we have to cancel.

I decided to shovel the driveway with my son, and the snow was a lot heavier than last time. I’m paying for that decision now, with heating pads on my lower back and hip. It was bad enough that I took something for the pain tonight. I feel like it’s all in spasms.

Gluten Update

I didn’t start this blog to be dishonest so I’m putting it out there that I cheated already! I suck, but I’m going to try again tomorrow. It was a snow day and my kids wants cinnamon buns. I caved. It was just too tempting. Tomorrow is another day, and I’m geared up to try again.

The bottom line is this decision is not easy. I like food. I’m not a huge bread or cake eater, but dammit that gluten is in everything! Even my Salt & Vinegar Pringles. So my three meals were gluten free, but my afternoon snack…not so much.

I’m working on it. I posted it on my personal Facebook page so I would be held to my decision, and most people were incredibly supportive by passing on great recipes and websites for going gluten free.

My crazy neighbor did call and tell me that gluten free is a fad and that I should not buy into it, but she also calls to find out what time to bring her kids to the bus stop when we have a two hour delay — um, exactly two hours later than a usual morning. It’s not rocket science, people!

Tomorrow’s Menu

My menu for tomorrow includes steel cut, gluten-free oatmeal (tired it today and didn’t die) for breakfast; a smoothie for lunch; veggies and hummus for a snack; and veggie risotto for dinner. Let’s see if I can stick to that.

I also need to stop at the store and get some gluten-free cookies. If we are going to have another snow day on Wednesday, I’m going to need something to get me through. Tonight’s dramatic ending was my 6-year-old stomping and crying because she couldn’t tie her bathroom. Somewhere in the tantrum I believe I won the award for Worst Mom Ever according to her.

I graciously accepted the award and put her to bed early. Mom needs a break!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn M
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 21:14:54

    I live in New England too, and I’m totally sick of the winter weather as well. No more snow, lol! 😉 Anyway, I can give you a couple of suggestions on things to get which are gluten-free. There’s Utz potato chips, Chex cereal, GF Rice Krispies, Cocoa and Fruity Pebbles, Ronzoni gluten-free pasta, Rudi’s bread…these are just a few things which I eat and they’re not majorly overpriced. Hope you feel better soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

