8 Inches of Snow and a Lot of Pain

pompom

The storm (nicknamed Storm Derby by our local news) is over and it dumped about eight inches of snow in our area that was followed by a lot of sleet. I didn’t even attempt to go out and help with the shoveling today as I woke up in terrible pain.

My whole right arm, from my shoulder to my finger tips, felt numb, yet painful. I know many of you with autoimmune issues understand that description, but to other people I get a strange look. How can something that is numb hurt? Well, it just does…and quite badly. I was unable to straighten my arm or my fingers for over an hour.

It started to feel a bit better after that, but in general today was really painful. Not one of my best. The kids were awesome, so I have that to be thankful for. I just finished helping my 6-year-old finish her 100th day of school project. In the process of gluing small pom-poms in the shape of a cat, I glue-gunned the crap out of my finger — as if I wasn’t in enough pain. Anyway, the project is done and I’m taking a few minutes to watch Entertainment Tonight.

Unrelated to autoimmune issues, I was just wondering what everyone thinks about the issue of Woody Allen allegedly molesting his daughter when she was seven. In my opinion, he’s such an odd man and he married his step-daughter. He fell in love with her when she was a teenager. To me, that’s a red flag right there.

What threw me tonight was hearing that their other adopted son Moses is on Camp Allen, completely supporting Woody and trashing his mom. It’s such a strange family. It makes me look at my own and think…we’re not that bad.

Gluten Note

I survived another day without gluten! I made a delicious eggplant rolatini and shortly after I read an article on nightshade vegetables. Have you heard of this? Apparently eggplant, bell peppers, and tomatoes can all cause flares in people with autoimmune issues like fibromyalgia. I may be able to give up gluten, but I’m Italian. There’s no way in hell I’m giving up tomatoes.

I hope you all survived the storm if it hit in your area, and I hope your day was more pain-free than mine. Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

