Back to the Rheumatologist

Photo by Theunis Viljoen

Photo by Theunis Viljoen

Last night I had a dream that my hand was hurting so bad and I was trying to find away to make it better. I woke up and my hands were still so swollen and stuck in a slightly bent position. That’s not the first time my real life pain has entered my dream, but seeing my hands this morning and spending another day in pain prompted me to call the rheumatologist and make an appointment for tomorrow morning.

There is a big part of me that knows he’s going to suggest prednisone, and I really don’t want to take it so I’m planning on talking him out of it. I can’t take being wired and eating like a maniac, but I’m also crying uncle with this pain. It’s the worst I’ve felt in over a year.

My rheumatologist wanted me to try and go off of the plaquenil to see if my main issue was fibromyalgia. I’m on muscle relaxers at night and I do take an over-the-counter anti-inflammatory medicine. My first rheumatologist said I had RA and not fibromyalgia. It’s crazy that the experts can’t even agree on a diagnosis. I think that’s a very frustrating part of having an invisible illness.

Either way, I have my appointment and I’m going tomorrow. With my luck, because I have the appointment, I’m going to wake up pain-free and feeling great. That’s pretty much how things go in my world.

My Baby Is Growing Up

My baby is turning seven tomorrow. I know it sounds so cliche, but I really don’t know where the time has gone. She’s my free spirit. I hate that she’s growing up because she comes out with the best things. I love her unique way of looking at things, and not to brag, but her comedic timing is spectacular.

The plan is to go out to dinner to the restaurant of her choice and be home before the next major snow storm hits New England. Did I mention I am so looking forward to spring? I want to see green grass and buds on the trees. I need to start a countdown until spring!

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tlohuis
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 02:14:36

    I have fibromyalgia and it is very painful, in fact I’m in a major flare at the moment. Anyway, I wanted to wish you luck at your doctor appointment tomorrow. I know it’s frustrating because like you said, your symptoms will be gone tomorrow. I’ll be having the worst symptoms, maybe something new, something the doctor needs to see while it’s happening, and every single time, by the time I get to the doctor’s office, the symptoms have subsided for the moment. Sigh………….. I understand what you mean about Prednisone, too. I hate that stuff. I was recently put on it for bronchitis and I couldn’t finish it because it was making me eat like a hog and I cannot eat like that with this gastroparesis. I hope you can get some answers. I would almost rather have RA because they can treat that. With fibro, there’s nothing to help it and half the doctor’s don’t even believe in it. They think it’s all in your head. In fact, a rheumatologist is the type of doctor that is supposed to treat fibromyalgia, but everyone I’ve called refuses to see me once I mention fibromyalgia. So, my primary care doctor treats me. It was a rheumatologist that first diagnosed me. I’ve been diagnosed by several doctors and the Mayo Clinic, but my rhuematologist retired and now no one will see me for that.
    Enjoy your day tomorrow and I hope your daughter has an awesome birthday.
    Peace,
    Tammy:)

    Reply

    • autoimmunemamabear
      Feb 13, 2014 @ 02:21:08

      I’m sorry. It is so frustrating when a medical professional doesn’t believe the type of pain you are in. I know that some doctors feel fibro is over-diagnosed when someone feels tired or in a pain a lot and no other reason is found. I do feel good about my new doctor. He gets it and wants to treat me with the least amount of meds possible, but as he said…you should not be living in that kind of pain. If what we’re doing isn’t working, we’ll try something else. Thanks for reading the blog. Please Like the blog on Facebook so we can stay in touch. It’s good to connect with people who get it.

      Reply

  2. tlohuis
    Feb 15, 2014 @ 22:59:15

    sounds like you found you a great doctor. Not many out there like that. My primary care doctor is great, but I have several doctors for the different diseases, but she handles all the medications because it was getting to be a big mess with several doctors prescribing me meds.
    Excuse my ignorance, but when it comes to computers I’m pretty ignorant. Do I have to go to FB to do that? How do I find you on there? I will be glad to do that, I just need a little assistance, thank you. I agree, it’s good to connect with people that truly get it.:)

    Reply

  3. autoimmunemamabear
    Feb 15, 2014 @ 23:16:14

    You can use this link https://www.facebook.com/AutoimmuneMama1?ref=hl and go straight to the page. If you are already logged in to FB you should just be able to like the page to follow us. Feel free to start conversations and ask questions. I’m hoping it becomes a nice community where we can all support each other 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

