Of Course the Pain Is Gone

5018791055_a1145eb0ec_n(1)

I believe I called it in yesterday’s blog that I’d wake up and feel much better today since I scheduled a doctor’s appointment for this morning. My hands were hardly swollen and other than feeling like a migraine is coming on, I’m doing pretty well.

My rheumatologist really wanted to believe I just had fibromyalgia since I really do fit that mold. I think he was hoping that because my swelling was minor, that it wasn’t early rheumatoid arthritis or lupus. He wants to do a bunch of blood work to check my levels. Chances are I won’t get that done tomorrow with the wonderful storm coming in, but I’ll get there on Friday.

He said that the fact that my hands were significantly swollen and stuck for two to three days before the appointment, that really is more of a rheumatic symptom. Fibro is pain all over with tenderness at the trigger point areas. I definitely have fibro. There is no question in his mind or mine, but now he is thinking that the early RA diagnosis is also correct. We’re going to see how my blood work comes back and how my pain level is over the next week.

If my blood work comes back the same as it has been, with an elevated ANA being the only thing that’s off, we are going to consider Lyrica. I need help people!! Please give me some feedback if you are on Lyrica. You can either comment on this blog post or start a conversation on the Autoimmune Mama Facebook page. I’m hoping that more of my readers will start to post their own questions or vents on the page. That’s what it is there for. I so appreciate the positive feedback. It’s just so nice to connect with people that understand what my life is like with an autoimmune disease. You all have helped me more than you know.

If my blood work comes back with an elevated RA level, I will go back on Plaquenil. I guess my main concern is that I’m currently on a ow dose of Celexa for anxiety. I tried to go off of it completely a few months ago, and I was downright evil. I think I scared my kids one day when I snapped at them. Lyrica is also for anxiety, so in my head, the plan would be to start Lyrica and go off Celexa.

My rheumatologist said it is fine to be on both as they do very different things, even though they both work for anxiety. I just don’t want to be on so much medicine. I’m trying this gluten-free diet and pretty soon I’m cutting down on sugar. I think I was supposed to start that today, but it’s my daughter’s birthday and dammit, I had ice cream and it was delicious!

I know as my condition gets worse, I will likely need more meds or different kinds of meds, but my goal is to get the pain under control with the least amount of medicine possible. The doctor did give me more pain medicine for days like I had earlier this week. I don’t mind that because I take those only when I really need them — sparingly. It’s really just the every day factor that bothers me.

So for now I’m doing nothing different until my lab work comes back. I’m going to take another muscle relaxer to help with my migraine and try and relax after a long day.

I was one of the room moms for my daughter’s class Valentine’s party, and we went out to dinner for her birthday. All three kids are still up because they are off from school until next Tuesday for February break (yay me!). All the area towns that were supposed to have school tomorrow have already announced that they will be closed because of the impending storm. Looks like we’ll be going stir crazy tomorrow since we won’t be leaving the house.

I have to laugh at all the crazy people buying enough food to be snowed in for a week. Come hell or high water, I’ll be leaving the house at some point on Friday. I hope those of you getting the storm (practically the whole east coast) stay safe and warm, and of course, pain free.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill Fontana
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 08:02:34

    This always happens to me~ make appt. with doc and everything goes back to normal! Ugh! I started taking pictures with my phone camera of swelling. Also, I have fibro and RA. So I take Lyrica and I am on Cymbalta which is like the Celexa. The Lyrica helps me a lot. I know when I don’t take it. For a longtime I was diagnosed as having seronegative RA because my rheumatoid factor was always negative but still had all the things that were consistent with RA. Finally after about 12 yrs. My Rheum.factor showed up! I was also told that fibro sometimes goes hand in hand with RA.(Secondary to RA). I hope this helps because again I truly understand and hope you get some relief and answers soon!

    Jill

    Reply

    • autoimmunemamabear
      Feb 13, 2014 @ 15:51:36

      Thanks, Jill. I’m so glad to hear the Lyrica is helping you. It’s always scary trying something new. My first rheumatologist labeled me as seronegative RA because of my symptoms, too. Do you take anything specific for the RA?

      Reply

      • Jill Fontana
        Feb 13, 2014 @ 20:02:08

        I take methotrexate for the RA but I may have to change or add something because I’m having too many flares. I also have pain med for major episodes but it just helps with pain but does not treat the RA. My Rheumy explained the osteoarthritis as secondary to RA ~ the OA is what happens after RA damages joints, the OA sets in! Ewwwww huh? Like we need more issues huh?

  2. helensamia
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 11:03:27

    Newly diagnosed yesterday!! Have seen a neurologist who has referred me to an immunologist for confirmation and to clarify which disorder I have.. Main symptom is severe peripheral Neuropathy in feet and legs… Numbness and weakness in legs.. I have great difficulty getting up stairs, walking on slopped ground .. On flat ground I can walk but very very slow.. My balance is very bad … For 12 years I have had Lymphedema in my left leg.. so I blamed the symptoms on this till they got so bad in both legs … Dr thinks this started in 2010 when I had pericarditis.. I also get migraines which have been worse since the AI has become worse.. Glad to find this page plus FB page …. As you see I blog on Lymphedema but will adding AI to this … Helen

    Reply

    • autoimmunemamabear
      Feb 13, 2014 @ 15:52:26

      So glad you found my page Helen! I’ve been doing some research of Peripheral Neuropathy. Look for a blog post on the subject soon!

      Reply

      • helensamia
        Feb 13, 2014 @ 17:34:20

        I look forward to that post and sharing on going stories with you… I have found sharing my Lymphedema with others invaluable so I hope sharing this new problem will also help …😃😃

  3. Linda Atkins
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 16:49:52

    I hesitate to reply, after my long reply on Swelling, Brain Fog, and Pain…Oh My, and you did not respond. I hope I did not offend you. I have had Fibromyalgia for 29 years, and it is brutal. One thing I am very aware of is that when the barometric pressure changes, my pain gets worse. Also, as I am sure you are aware, stress and sinus infections trigger migraines, or they do mine. I just discovered a product made by Origins called “Sensory Therapy” Peace of Mind. I got mine at Dillard’s. You put a little dab on your temples, behind your ears and on your neck. I cannot begin to tell you how relaxing it is. For a full blown migraine I take Treximet. I have tried Lyrica and was on it for quite some time, but did not get much relief, and gained a lot of wait, but that was my experience, your’s may be totally different. I wish you all the best, and hope you can get some relief. Sincerely ~ Linda ~

    Reply

  4. Linda Atkins
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 16:50:53

    *weight

    Reply

Leave a Reply

