Lots of Drama on Valentine’s Day

Photo by Hathuyanna

Photo by Hathuyanna

Valentine’s Day has never been much of a big deal to me. I scheduled doctor’s appointments and hair cuts for the kids. We got pizza and watched a movie together. We watched Wall-E, which might possibly be the most boring movie I’ve ever seen.

We ended up with about 13 inches of snow and there is a huge shortage of salt in the area, so everyone is freaking out. It’s getting all sorts of media coverage. I didn’t even attempt to shovel the snow after a night of crazy loud sleeting. I knew it would be too heavy for me.

The night turned dramatic a few minutes ago with my youngest daughter. We laughed at something she said, which resulted in tears and theatrics with statements like, “My heart is broken and I just don’t know if there is anything you can do to fix it” and “No one in this family loves me.” She has a flair for drama — my own little Sophia Lauren.

The good news about today was that some of the intense pain in my hands was gone. I still have the numbness and my lower back aches, but it’s a huge step up from the pain I was in earlier in the week. My swelling has gone down quite a bit. Tonight I’m doing a lot of research on sleep, more specifically non-restorative sleep. I can’t be alone in feeling like I can sleep all night and still wake up exhausted and unrefreshed.

While sleep has been in issue for me as long as I can remember, it wasn’t until lately that I have a whole new level of exhaustion. There are many days where I can’t make it through without a nap — again, it’s a blessing that I work from home, as that might be difficult in an office. I’m not only trying learn about the stages of sleep (which will make for another blog post), but different ways to get more quality sleep.

I don’t know if you’ve tried sleep medications, either over-the-counter or prescription, but with most of them, I wake up in more of a fog than usual. I think I’ve touched on my issues with Ambien in previous blog post. I have not remembered shopping sprees on Ebay (very happy that even on meds I’m a bargain shopper) and I’ve made several phone calls and written emails that I don’t have a single memory of in the morning.

Needless to say, I need help in the area of sleep. With my rheumatologist mentioning the possibility of starting Lyrica, he did also mention that it would help me relax at night. Perhaps an added bonus. Have any of you on Lyrica seen a benefit in your quality of sleep? I’d be really interested to hear how it has affected others.

We did have a Twitter comment asking about Orencia. For any other readers on Orencia for their rheumatoid arthritis, how long did it take to begin feeling a difference? Feel free to comment here or on our Autoimmune Mama Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

