Snow and Pain Seem to Go Together

2194433723_f58455e582_m

Today was pretty darn good in terms of pain, and then somehow I must have jinxed myself. Of course, it could be that it’s cold and there is yet another snow storm hitting our area tomorrow, but my lower back and hip are in terrible pain.

I was banking on my kids going back to school tomorrow. They have been off since last Wednesday for a winter break. I love them, but I want them to go back to school! I need a day to myself to get organized. I lost a larger client over the weekend that I did social media and blogging for. If I’m being honest (and not naming names) it was my least favorite client because the CEO clearly didn’t have much respect for women.

In this day and age that still occurs. It’s mind-boggling to think that people can get away with treating employees like that, but I do think with him it was a cultural thing. I stayed with him so long because I truly liked the product and its use in the education field. But, now that our contract is done, I’m actually feeling like it’s for the best. I don’t need to work for someone who treats me like I’m stupid.

Funny enough, one of the writers that used to work for me just found my email through a Google search and wrote me a note to ask what happened and to say that she learned so much working with me. Stuff like that means so much. It only takes a moment to let someone know you touched their lives.

Actually, in general I’m trying to get rid of people who bring me down. My “friend” that I had the argument with about the blog has not contacted me at all, and I’m at peace with it. If he truly thinks of me as a big complainer and negative, then I don’t need him either.

Instead, I am surrounding myself with people who make me laugh and smile. I am lucky enough to have a lot of those in my life. I teach a Pilates class twice a week and I swear we crack up the whole time. I try and get them talking so they don’t notice the pain or that we’ve been holding a plank for two minutes.

We discuss trashy tv, like 90 Day Fiance and really anything going on in the news. Not only is it good for me to keep moving, it’s also good for me emotionally to laugh and truly enjoy myself with a group of people.

Anyway, today’s message is to try and stay positive. I can’t say things will get better in terms of having an autoimmune disease, but we are responsible for surrounding ourselves with positive people who care about us.

Hoping you are all pain-free today, and stay safe and warm if you’re impacted by this next storm.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. helensamia
    Feb 18, 2014 @ 10:13:55

    Oh so true to surround yourself with positive people… Negative nellies just bring you down!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

