Warm Weather and Sore Hands

12382702733_0f9c299667_n

Well, we are having a heatwave with today in the 40s. I’m sad to say it felt so warm today, and the best news was that my kids went back to school…FINALLY! I love my kids, but we’ve been cooped up in the house and I needed a break.

I went back to sleep and slept until around 11:00 and it felt wonderful. My hands are back to being sore and my pain level was higher today, but again, it’s a step up from last week.

I spent the evening at a town meeting and a Board of Education meeting, and if had anyone had told me a year go that’s what I’d be doing, I’m have cracked up. I call myself anti-social. I really do like people, but I think I have some sort of social anxiety. I don’t like to walk into a big group not knowing anyone, and public speaking scares the hell of out me.

I feel pressured to help because it’s the kids that are going to suffer with the ridiculous budget cut. When it comes to my kids, I’ll fight for what they need. The problem with my children is that two out of three have dyslexia. I’m sorry to say it this way, but in terms of special ed, my kids are low on the totem pole and can be the ones that slip through the cracks of special education because they need to cut services.

I think they know me well enough that I’m very easy to work with until you try and remove services that I truly feel my kids need to succeed. I have to go to a yearly PPT meeting tomorrow for number 2. We’ll see what they throw at me, but we are lucky to have phenomenal teachers this year, and I know how much her teacher wants her to succeed. She’s a blessing to me and my daughter.

Subject Change: The Olympics

Who’s watching? What are you watching? I find myself wishing I was graceful as I watch the figure skating. They make it look so easy, and I can hard stand on skates. I have to say though, I’m really enjoying the Olympics. I don’t think Russia was not at all prepared to host. Between the half pipe being a mess (and didn’t Shaun White shoe he most amazing sportsmanship?), the food, and the slopes.

I spent some time in Russia as a teen. I was a darn good ballerina at one point, but since I’m kind of old, it was the Soviet Union when I was there. A darn scary place, with exquisite palaces and art. I wish I was old enough to appreciate it, but I was a young teen. Heck, I’m lucky I made it home safe. We’d sneak out of our hotel and hang out and go to concerts. I’m lucky I was killed somewhere. No thinking on my part. I was a teen and invincible.

Autoimmune Life

What can I say? By the end of the day, I’m hurting and really stiff through my back. I’m still trying to keep up with some physical activity every day. I’m going to be posting a good stretch routine that I’ve used in my class, and I try and do on days when I can’t hold weights or really workout to full capability.

The stretching does help. Look for that post tomorrow and let me know what you think. If it’s something that helps you as well, I’m happy to add more.

Be well, my autoimmune friends.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. helensamia
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 08:38:28

    Started on Gluten free diet… Early days but I think I have more energy … No change to any things else except less bloated!!

    Reply

  2. autoimmunemamabear
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 00:42:04

    The same here. Those would be the two things that have changed for me…I’ve cheated here and there though 🙂 I’m trying!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

