Warmth…and a Migraine

5494773491_f1f796d715_n

The good news is that it was over 40 degrees today. It’s still cold, but compared to what we’ve had the last few weeks, it felt like spring. I can almost see the grass poking through the 2+ feet of snow in my yard. Ok, well maybe not, but it felt darn good not to be freezing all day.

My kids started out with a two-hour delay because of icy roads, so it was a late start to my day, and it just got more and more hectic from there. I had a PPT (for those of you that don’t know special education terminology, that’s a planning and placement team meeting) for my daughter. Nothing shocking, she still has dyslexia. They wanted to cut down the hours of service she receives and her teacher adamantly said that was not going to happen. Did I mention I love her teacher?

It takes a lot to stand up to a room full of “experts” and say you don’t agree. I’ve done it before, and when it comes to my children I’d do it again in a moment’s notice, but I was happy that I didn’t have to.

I think the stress of all the running around caused a migraine today. I can’t think of any other reason that I got one, but it got pretty bad in the late afternoon and my vision went completely blurry in my left eye.

Because of my stupid insurance, I can’t get migraine medicine covered because it was a pre-existing condition. The only medicine that works for me is not cheap and I didn’t have any to take. Lately I’ve been taking a muscle relaxer because when I get a migraine, I have a baseball-sized knot at the base of my skull and where the neck meets the shoulders.

The muscle relaxer helps relax that knot and in turn, the migraine pain subsides quite a bit. According to everything I’ve read, this kind of migraine with definite trigger points (my knots) is related to my fibromyalgia. Just one more reason to love my autoimmune diseases.

Migraines are awful, and if you haven’t had one you’re very lucky. I have a pretty high tolerance for pain, but migraine pain is different. Not only does is physically hurt, but I have light and sound sensitivity, and I have either blurred or completely lost vision with a few of them. While the pain from my fibro and RA is horrid, to me, the migraines just affect everything. I can’t fake it, and I can’t even be a mom when I have a bad one.

My kids are great. They know when it’s bad, that they need to calm down and watch a movie while I sit in the dark and close my eyes. Luckily, they don’t happen as often as they used to, but it’s still a few times per month.

Tonight looks like a good night for am Ambien so it’s possible I’ll post later while I’m asleep and have no idea what I’m doing 🙂 Have a good night everyone.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. helensamia
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 03:27:40

    Oh yes I have had migraines since a teenager but much better once through menopause… They are the pits but medication works which I do get partial cover for.. Also a massage of shoulders and neck helps as I defiantly carry stress there…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

