I Saw the Sun Today

9515922769_4f1b8b6071_n

It was like I hadn’t seen the sun in years. Just walking outside and feeling the warmth of the sun made my afternoon. I wish I could have gone for a walk, but with two birthday parties and food shopping to do, that didn’t quite happen.

I felt pretty good for most of the day, but two straight hours of standing at the second birthday party did me in. I knew it wasn’t going to be good for me, but for some reason I feel stupid being the one that needs to sit down and can’t make it through. It’s something that I just personally need to get over.

At this point my back is thoroughly stiff and my hips and legs are very sore. It’s not like I don’t try and exercise on a regular basis. Standing should be that difficult, but for whatever reason, it starts in my back and then moves down my legs if I’ve been on my feet too long.

The flip side of it is that if I’m sitting too long, my legs also get stiff. It’s kind of another crappy catch 22. I need to get up and move, but standing in one spot just kills me…especially for a two hour clip. My kids had fun with their cousins, and that’s what really mattered.

My other big news of the day is that I’m being bashed in our local newspaper. As I mentioned in a previous post, we’re having a lot of political issues in our town and education budget was reduced a ridiculous amount. I wrote a letter to our First Selectman, but he’s a baffoon and neglected to answer me. So I copied the local newspaper and shocker…he responded with an hour or so.

The newspaper requested to print my piece, and it didn’t matter at the time, but now I have all the crazies commenting that I’m an abortion lover, etc. It amazes me how people make such assumptions because I said I think the reduction in the education budget was too small and that we were lied to by our First Selectman.

3381786063_fefd9f431c_m

What I learned today is…don’t read the comments! I put myself out there because I believe our kids deserve more. I have three kids with different special needs and I don’t want the special education staff to be reduced. The needs of my children are nothing compared to the non-verbal autistic kids in our community and guess what? They have every right to an education, too.

It pissed me off a little this morning, but it’s done and I won’t go back and read any more nastiness.

The exciting news of the day, in case you didn’t see the post was I started an Autoimmune Mama Group page on Facebook. Please take a moment and send a request to join. I would love for us to connect on Facebook and have a place to ask each other questions and garner support from people who understand our fight against our autoimmune diseases. It’s really something that alters your life, and I’d found that most people simply don’t get it.

So please join the group and post away!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sdloopy
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 04:12:49

    I’m glad you were able to see & feel the sun today! I also deal with your catch-22, it can be so frustrating!

    Congrats on the new Facebook group! I’m happy and excited to now be a part of it. 🙂

    And regarding the newspaper and comments, I have learned to try and pay no attention to the negative comments. I write some animal articles for a local, small magazine. I felt so down from the negative comments but then my dad said something that made me laugh and helped me get out of my funk: “That means people are reading your work. :)”

    So even if there is a negative comment, that means one more person read your opinion from what you knew before. 🙂 I hope that helps!

    Reply

  2. theblandau
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 14:14:33

    People are brazen in online comments and say things they’d never say to your face. I don’t believe the “don’t read the comments” rule. I believe the “develop really thick skin” rule (no scleroderma pun intended! :). When you write about strong beliefs, be ready for backlash. It’s good to see what rational people have to say about it, even if they disagree. Dismiss (and don’t take personally) the irrational/hate comments as you would a two-year-old’s explanation of why it’s fine to put her fingers through the grate of the box fan. Keep saying what you want to say!

    Reply

    • autoimmunemamabear
      Feb 24, 2014 @ 01:32:55

      You are correct and that’s exactly what I did today. So far I’m an “abortion lover” and “as bad as Obama” and I’m still standing. Not sure what either of those comments have to do with a small town education budget, but it’s not for me to judge. I put my opinion out there and I stand by everything I said. I truly appreciate your comment.

      Reply

  3. ♥Renee
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 11:19:45

    Would you be willing to link the letter. Im interested to know

    Reply

  4. autoimmunemamabear
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 13:51:09

    Reply

Leave a Reply

