Arthritis Flares Suck and Other Random Thoughts

6926851164_9ea217567a_n

You can tell from the title of this blog post that my rheumatoid arthritis flare is still going strong. It frustrates me that I have take medicine for pain for the last three nights. I’m not big on narcotic pain medicine. Between it making me feel itchy, and the other symptom of its effect on digestion and bodily functions, I’m not a fan. But, I’m also not a hero. By the end of the day the pain level is unbearable.

Despite the pain, I dragged the three kids out in the freezing cold to buy a new mattress. I’m embarrassed to say mine is well over 16 years old. There is this metal coil that digs into my bad each night and with my tax refund arriving in my account today, I broke down and went mattress shopping. Is it wrong that I’m so excited to go to sleep on Monday night?

Of course this means I need to clean my room top to bottom before the mattress is delivered. I’m a lot of things — organized isn’t one of them. I have a problem with clutter and too much stuff. I feel like I clean and put things away, and it’s all messy within a few hours. Part of that is having three kids, and the other parts include exhaustion, laziness, and feeling overwhelmed by all the crap.

I’ve made up my mind that this weekend is going to be a “get rid of clutter” weekend. My son is going to a zip-lining place with a friend, and I promised my girls we could go for mani/pedis tomorrow. After the fun, I’m getting to work.

My OCD neighbor told me she needs everything to have a specific place. I think that’s where I’m going to start. I have too much stuff, and I need to get rid of clothes, papers, and miscellaneous crap that’s strewn around my house.

So as not to overwhelm myself, my focus tomorrow is on my bedroom. I have to take everything out from under my bed so I’m not horrified when they remove the mattresses, and then I’m making bags of garbage and Good Will. It’s all sounding good now, but I’ll let you know how it goes.

If anyone knows of some neat “getting organized” blogs or sites, please feel free to share. I need all the help I can get!

Here’s to hoping that tomorrow involves a lot less pain. I forgot to mention we’re getting more snow on Monday. I’m so done with this winter!

Don’t forget to join our Facebook group for people with autoimmune diseases. I hope it’s going to be a great place to get support and share some laughs with people who really understand. You can also follow us on Twitter at @autoimmunemama1

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. twistedrandall
    Mar 01, 2014 @ 04:34:22

    Do one spot and then take a break. Them go to another.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

