Cut the Aspartame Now

120934322_6fbd408d5a_n(1)

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I’m working on the whole gluten-free diet thing. I’m not counting today, as I ate fast food and I feel like hell from it now. Tomorrow is back to gluten-free!

When I was researching things to help my fibromyalgia pain, I kept seeing articles on the links between aspartame and chronic illnesses. About two years ago, I was in a hellish cycle of migraines, and my brother-in-law, who is a neurologist, asked me how much diet soda I was drinking. The answer even bothered me. I couldn’t remember the last time I had a day without my diet soda.

At that point I’d have done anything to be headache free and I gave up diet soda cold turkey, The first few days were rough, but then I didn’t miss it so much. Little by little it crept back into my diet about a year ago. Not a lot, but every now and then I’d have one.

I started looking more into the artificial sweetener aspartame when I read an article on how artificial sweeteners can make you actually crave sugar. I needed something to blame being fat on, so I jumped on that bandwagon. Through more research, I also found that aspartame can make many chronic illnesses worse.

Among the adverse reactions people can have to aspartame are joint pain, dizziness, migraines, weight gain, anxiety attacks, depression, insomnia, fatigue, nausea, vertigo, muscle spasms, and irritability. Um…a great big yep there. I think I have had all of those at one point or another.

It’s kind of a cycle. I was feeling tired and fatigued, so I’d have a diet soda to give me that caffeine kick. Little did I know the aspartame likely making my problems worse. I also read that aspartame could be causing fibromyalgia. While I don’t consume enough of the stuff to believe this is the cause of my fibro, I did start label reading and it is in a lot of products.

I thought giving up diet soda eliminated the aspartame from my diet, little did I know it was in my yogurt, my breath mints, Jello, cereals, and my iced tea. I thought I’d just use this as an opportunity to give my own little public service announcement to remind you to read the labels and cut this stuff out of your diet if you have a chronic illness.

It’s bad enough to be having an awful flare due to the freezing temperatures, I don’t want to add to it with what I eat.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. helensamia
    Mar 02, 2014 @ 11:14:55

    With the gluten free diet and getting rid of the things that cause inflammation it is a full time job reading labels… Even the vitamins can have gluten..

    Reply

  2. dif4us
    Mar 02, 2014 @ 20:55:41

    When I have no choice but to eat out and I just do the best I can I take a dose of a supplement by Apex Energetics called GlutenFlam (k-52). It is specifically designed to protect you in a gluten exposure, reduce inflammation, etc. here’s a website that shows the ingre. http://www.naturalhealthyconcepts.com/gluten-flam-60-k52-p-apex-energetics.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

