Deep Tissue Massage Sounded Like a Good Idea

I promised my daughters that we’d do a mani/pedi day today, so off to the spa we went! As I was sitting in the massaging, heated chair getting my pedicure, I thought…I’m here, I’m in pain…I’m going to get a 20 minute massage to loosen up the knots through my shoulders, neck, and back.

It felt so good as the woman was beating the crap out of me in the massage chair. She found my knots right away and really dug into them. It was painful and heavenly all at the same time. When I was going for massages more often, my massage therapist would always comment that she had never seen trapezius muscles as knotted as mine — I never did get an award for that.

Twenty minutes flew by and I was feeling pretty darn good as I left to complete our girls’ day with a little shopping. It wasn’t until a few hours later that my whole back seized up and I started getting spasms. I think I’m worse now than I was last night. I can hardly stand, and I don’t think it’s just from cleaning my bedroom and getting everything out from under my bed (which was a freakin’ disaster area, but that’s another story).

I emailed a friend of mine who is a massage therapist in another state and he told me a licensed therapist would know how not to aggravate my muscles during a flare. He also chastised me for getting a massage from someone in a nail salon. Like I said, it sounded like a good idea at the time.

My friend’s advice was to drink a lot of water, as massage releases the toxins that build up in muscles. Drinking plenty of water after a massage will flush the system. I did that…check. He also recommended that since I was having spasms in my back, I should treat it with ice and an anti-inflammatory. Let’s hope my friend doesn’t read my blog because ice just sounded terrible when I’m struggling just to get warm. I’ve got the heating pad on it right now.

The only good news I have to share is the Winter Storm Titan is not supposed to be so bad tomorrow night. I think it’s hitting harder to the south of CT. I’m done with snow, and I’m certainly in no shape to shovel.

Also, my nails look pretty. I know that won’t last more than a day or two, but my girls had a lot of fun. I suppose when they are grown I’ll remember their faces getting their nails done and not the pain I’m in right now.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. helensamia
    Mar 02, 2014 @ 11:17:50

    That is interesting about the massage.. Explains why some times you can be quite sore after… But they do help the stiff muscles and headaches..

    Reply

  2. TTD
    Mar 02, 2014 @ 13:21:20

    I love getting a massage, and every time I go to a new salon, I have to fill out a form giving any health issues I have. I think if that didn’t happen, I’d walk out.

    Reply

  3. dif4us
    Mar 02, 2014 @ 20:48:20

    In our lives full of flares days like this one where your focus is having fun with ppl you love makes the bad days sufferable. I like to take photos and videos when I feel well to watch when I’m in a low moment. My kids also come on field trips, so to speak, into my bedroom when I’m poorly but still able to talk quietly and give hugs, makes it easier for everyone. I’m so pleased you had the ability to get these pick me ups, hopefully your body, and the weather will align to give you another soon. ooo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

