Anti-inflammatory Medicine: When Do You Take It?

I feel like I’ve been running in high gear all week. It’s not necessarily a bad thing, as I’ve been feeling pretty good, but I’m just waiting for my body to cry uncle. I don’t have much in terms of plans tomorrow, so I plan to clean and then take it easy.

I’m gearing up for my daughter’s first sleepover birthday party next Friday, and I have to admit, I’m nervous. She has had a friend sleep over night, but not seven of them at once. At the time we talked about it, I just couldn’t swing another gymnastics party. I suggested a sleepover and we’d do nails and makeup. I’ll order pizzas and a cake. We should be good to go…I hope!

My daughter’s birthday is this coming Tuesday, and we’re having family over next Sunday, but we’re also going out to dinner on Tuesday with my parents. She’s very excited to turn nine, and I’m a little sad about it. First of all, lately she goes from being my sweet, wonderful daughter to some being where I’m standing there waiting for her head to spin. The snottiness is getting old, as is the yelling.

That all being said, my oldest daughter is one of the easiest kids I know. She’s just a nice kid, and easy to be around. I’m really proud of her, and all three of my kids. They are not even close to perfect, in fact, sometimes they are abominable, but they are mine and I would do anything in the world to protect them and keep them safe.

5276291581_3839a845bf_n

My arthritis has been pretty good this week. At the end of the day I have a lot of pain in my hip, but I’m thankful that my hands haven’t been nearly as bad as they were a few weeks ago. I’m interested to know if any of you take over-the-counter anti-inflammatories to manage pain and swelling? As I mentioned before I don’t love taking pain meds, but if you’re reading this blog, chances are you have an autoimmune disease and you understand that there are days that you can’t go without some type of pain medicine.

I guess I’m wondering about the OTC anti-inflammatories, like ibuprofen or naproxen sodium, because I take them only as needed. I read another blog that recommended staying on top of the pain, but taking them twice a day (naproxen sodium) or ibuprofen a few times per day. I don’t treat my pain that way.

I take the meds when I need it. I just took a naproxen sodium because of my hip pain, but I’m wondering if I took it earlier, perhaps I wouldn’t be in this much pain at the end of the day. I’d really love to hear what works for you.

Also, don’t forget to join our Autoimmune Mama Facebook group. It’s a great place to vent, share, and get support from people who understand.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theblandau
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 13:10:53

    I do take mine on a schedule: two Alleve (baproxen sodium) twice a day. That’s a whopping dose of Alleve, and when my symptoms are more mellow, I decrease the amount, and I’ve even had periods when I’ve been able to use prn, like you. But when pain is a daily thing, I do find “staying ahead of it” helps me control it. It is how I am usually able to avoid the stronger stuff (which doesn’t reduce inflammation but –with Alleve– helps me through the “can’t sit still, can’t sleep, somebody shoot me” pain). There is a lot to be said, long-term med-management-wise, for using only prn if you are able. Perhaps you should evaluate earlier. For instance, when you feel the tightness or ache or whatever your first signs of pain, ask yourself how it’s been lately. Is it likely to pass on its own? Then reevaluate a couple of hours later. Is it still likely to dissipate? Pay attention to your observations based on the last few days/weeks. In other words, work on a conservative strategy to avoid the danger zone. Best of luck!

    Reply

  2. twistedrandall
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 13:46:27

    I am one of those people that only take it when needed but I have learned to take it early and not wait for it to get our of control. If I had higher levels of pain I might take it on a schedule but right now it is manageable (or I just got used to my level of pain again)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

