The Workout Steps into High Gear

4095024524_f0ff8609c6

I have a wedding that I’m supposed to be in May. I’ve been slacking off for a while now, but today shit got real! I worked out really hard today. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to do any cardio, but I did an ab routine that might cause some good pain tomorrow.

Here’s the workout:

  • 50 Crunches
  • 15 Pushups (I do the girly kind)
  • 1 minute Plank
  • 30 second Side Plank
  • 1 minute Bridge
  • 15 pushups
  • 1 minute Plank
  • 30 second Side Plank
  • 50 crunches
  • 1 minute Plank
  • 2 minutes Bridge
  • 50 Crunches

This is definitely not for beginners. I would start by cutting down to 1/4 of the amounts shown if you aren’t working out consistently, but it’s a no-impact tough abdominal workout.

I did this along with some weights for my arms, and I felt pretty good until about 6pm. I have my usual evening pain and stiffness after sitting for an hour or so. I hate when it becomes difficult to get up from a chair. I feel like no matter what I do or don’t do during the day, by day’s end I’m walking like a 90-year-old woman.

I’m just going to be honest and say it really sucks. I don’t like being slow! That all being said, I’m not giving up on my diet and exercise plan. I’ve been eating pretty well, though I made a horrible dinner tonight. It looked really good on Pinterest. It was a lemon chicken cooked with green beans and potatoes. The problem is, by the time the potatoes cooked the chicken was dry. Note to self: put the chicken and green beans in after the potatoes have cooked for 30 minutes or so.

My two goals for my diet are to drink a lot more water, like 8-12 glasses a day; and eat less sugar. I think I mentioned that I ended up having the blood test for celiac disease and I don’t have it, though I do feel more energetic off the gluten. I use this as a reason to cheat now and then and I don’t force myself to be so strict with it.

There are easy substitutions like crackers, chips, rice cakes, and pancake mix that are gluten free. Stuff like that I’m sticking with, but if I need to use a little bread crumbs, etc. I’m not going to go out of my way to buy the expensive gluten free ones.

So, I’ll post tomorrow’s workout after I finish. This will keep me honest and make me doing something each day. I feel like there are days that it’s so hard to do anything but lay down, and on those days my focus will be on light stretching. Anyone with rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia, lupus, or other autoimmune diseases know their own limitations.

On days where your body is saying “no way,” then I just won’t do it, and I need to accept that as part of my lifestyle. My goal is to lose 40 pounds by July. It’s a big goal…but I think the first 10 are probably going to come off easy as I’m just plain overweight at the moment. It’s particularly difficult and depressing for me because I was always rail thin. I was 90 pounds when I got married and 133 when I was 9 months pregnant. It kills me that I weigh more than that now and I know the meds have something to do with it, but I definitely don’t need to be eating as much chocolate and crap that I do.

I don’t like to discuss my in-laws too much in case they ever find my blog, but my mother-in-law sprung a trip to Disney on us this week and we are going (the whole family) in July. We did this about two years ago and we traveled everywhere as a group of 14. Take a moment to picture that.

We’re hungry. We want to stop to eat…table for 14 please? You can probably imagine how long it took to wait, then eat, not to mention my twin nephews were 6 months old at the time so we stopped every hour or so to change or feed them.

This time my kids were not thrilled about the idea of going with a big group. My daughter told me today that she just wants us to go together. I told them that we would make things different this time and that we’re going to be upfront about not having to do everything together. They’ve all taken their families alone to Disney and we just haven’t been in the position to do that.

Do I sound like an ungrateful bitch? I don’t mean to. I’m very thankful for the things my mother-in-law does for us, but it isn’t an easy relationship. It’s like walking into a room knowing the people don’t really like you, but they make an effort for the kids. I appreciate the effort, but I wish things were different. It’s hard when you just don’t feel liked.

I’ve done my best to make my peace with it and I do love them all. We just don’t see eye-to-eye on a lot. My kids are starting to notice that they don’t like me, and there’s not much I can do about it. I only say kind things about them because no matter what, they are my children’s family and they are all very good to my kids. My son is just starting to get defensive when he feels I’m being attacked. My kids are very in tune with people’s feelings. I can’t stop that, nor would I want to.

Lastly, don’t forget to join our Facebook Autoimmune Mama group. It’s been really nice getting to know everyone and it’s a place where you can say whatever you want and no one will judge you for how you feel. I know I certainly need help at the low points in dealing with my autoimmune diseases, and it really helps to talk to people who understand and can even offer real advice…unlike someone’s mom’s sister’s cousin’s friend tried some supplement and she was cured for life! We’ll have none of that on our page šŸ™‚

Have a pain free (or low pain) night everyone.

Leave a Reply

