A Long Day, But It’s Done

5065074142_6e1b95f407_n

Today was one of the first days in a really long time that I was busy from early morning until late tonight. I did catch a 30-minute nap in between activities, but to be honest, I’m surprised I’m doing as well as I am. I am worried it’s all going to hit me tomorrow because my body just isn’t used to this pace.

Luckily, other than teaching my class and going to my daughter’s school for lunch to celebrate her birthday, I will have a lot of down time. The only real complaint I have is regarding my hands. They just keep getting numb and that pins and needles feeling, but it’s now lasting for a period of hours rather than minutes.

I’m making my list of questions for my rheumatologist next month, but it sure didn’t help things that a woman at my meeting this morning told me Lyrica gave her stroke-like symptoms. She said she would have gaps in her memory, and difficulty with words. That scared the crap out of me. Part of me wishes people didn’t tell you their medicinal horror stories, but the other part of me wants to research everything before I try it.

I did speak to a friend today who is very knowledgeable about essential oils. Anyone out there in autoimmune land using them? I’m not looking for a cure, but I’d like something natural to help ease the symptoms. She’s going to call me tomorrow to talk about what she’d recommend.  Like anything else, I take it all in with a grain of salt.

Everyone believes their products work and that they have the magic cure. If there really was a magic cure, we’d all have taken it by now. She did go into the Leaky Gut thing, and said that a lot of what we eat goes into the blood stream and causes inflammation. I’m not denying that…heck, I even wrote a blog on Leaky Gut. I just don’t want to jump on any type of bandwagon.

I will say I do think overall I feel a bit more energetic (or at least less exhausted) since I’ve tried going gluten free. I think there definitely are links to what we eat wreaking havoc on our immune system. I’m just looking for anything that might help.

If anyone has experience using essential oils to treat symptoms of their rheumatoid arthritis, chronic pain, or joint issues, please share them with me. Knowledge is power and I am trying to learn everything I can.

On a whole other note…did anyone read about the interview with the Sandy Hook massacre shooter Adam Lanza’s father being interviewed for The New Yorker? I’m just not sure how I feel about this. The man wishes his son was never born.

I’m not sure if I have mentioned this, but I grew up in Sandy Hook. I know two families that lost children that day — one of the little girls I had known since she was 6 weeks old. As someone who works for and with children and adults with special needs, I hate that they link Adam Lanza to Asperger’s. The kid had clear psychological issues, and much more going on than an autism spectrum disorder.

As a parent though, how could you not see your child for two years? How could you say you wish your child was never born? Perhaps if Adam was shown more compassion growing up and got the help he needed, things could have been different. I know this is a touchy subject, but it’s been on my mind a lot today, so I figured I’d share.

I ache for those families. I live minutes from where it happened and our lives here will never be the same. My children were in lockdown as I was glued to the television waiting to hear what really happened. At one point it was released (wrongly) that there was a van with two other shooters that they were trying to track down. I’ll never forget that day, and the days following it for so many reasons…the main one being I got to hug my kids when they got home. My children came home from school that day, while others didn’t.

I am trying not to judge Adam Lanza’s father because you just don’t know what someone’s life has been like unless you’ve lived it in their shoes. I just wonder where the love and compassion is. Just my two cents.

Thanks for listening to my random thoughts tonight, I think I just needed to get out that I found the interview disturbing. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

