The Birthday Celebration Begins

7746112674_f0d08e4b8d_n

My middle baby turned nine today. It’s so cliche, but I don’t know where the time has gone. What I do know is that she is turning into a beautiful young lady both inside and out. One of the things I’m most proud of with my children is their sense of compassion. All three of them seem to really try and understand and care for other people. Now I’m not saying that are always compassionate with each other…but with other people they are.

I went to her school and had lunch with her class, and then this evening we went out to dinner with my parents. This is not going to sound like a good parent, but have you ever wanted your kids to just plain shut up? OMG, my youngest daughter has no volume control and she interrupts  every conversation when we’re in a group. It was all I could to not to yell at her, but instead I calmly kept telling her she was being rude.

I’m not perfect, my kids bug me sometimes. I think any parent that can’t admit that is lying! So in addition to the birthday celebration, I got an email from my daughter’s friend’s mother (did you follow that) saying that the girl would not be able to come to my daughter’s sleepover because she had a bad case of lice and they thought they got rid of it, and apparently she was sent home from school today again.

Don’t get me wrong…lice is rampant in elementary schools. It’s certainly not this girl’s fault, but whenever I hear about lice, I immediately start scratching my head and assuming I have it. I have a neighbor who I hardly know, but she started a natural lice removal company. I turned my itching into such a fiasco this afternoon that I actually drove over to her house and had her check my head. (I’m cracking up as I type this.)

I’m pleased to say, I did not have lice, HAHA! It’s just whenever I hear about it, it gives me the creepy crawlies and I start feeling itchiness.

The good news of the day is that the weather was gorgeous. I sat in the driveway waiting for the kids’ buses and it felt really nice. The bad news is that by tomorrow night the temperature will drop and on Thursday we’re getting snow. This better be the last damn storm of the winter. I’m so ready for spring!

As for my exercise plan, I taught a good, difficult class this morning, and that was all I did today. Between work, lice, and birthday stuff, more exercise was not in the cards. My elliptical machine did arrive and I’m so excited to use it for the first time tomorrow. I’m praying that I don’t come back to the blog tomorrow and tell you how much I hate it. I need to like it…I need to like it for 20 minutes a day.

My goal is to start with 10 minutes twice a day. I know cardiovascularly I’m not ready for an hour on the thing, and I don’t want to even think about what that would do to my joints. So baby steps. I’m doing well with my weights and ab work, and I’m actually feeling pretty good. I haven’t gotten on the scale in a few days, and I’m sure my dinner isn’t going to help. I’ll weigh myself on Friday. Just remind me 🙂

Leave a Reply

