The After Party…Swollen Hands and Sore Bones

1655777_10203452144445665_1009035212_o

As I mentioned, we had our first sleepover party at the house last night. I was wide awake until about 4AM. I posting on one of the chronic pain pages on Facebook at like 3:30AM. I’m not even sure why. Maybe it was that I kept thinking one of the girls would get scared. I’m not exactly sure, but I went from completely exhausted to wide awake in my bed.

This morning was rough. I’m not going to lie. It was hell getting out of bed when a few of the girls woke up at 7:30. I must have done something right because my kids are not early risers. I had a kid in my bedroom petting the dog at 7:30AM and it wasn’t one of my kids.

I pretty much crashed after the last girl left. All in all, it was a fun party. I didn’t accomplish too much. It’s going to be a mad dash to get my house ready for my daughter’s family birthday party tomorrow. I made a ziti, and opted to order a tray of chicken just to make my life easier.

My hands have really been terrible. My fingers were like fat little sausages this morning. I’m not even sure whether to say they were painful or numb. I guess I’d go with both. By mid-day, almost every joint in my body hurt. I was walking in Target and had a sharp pain in my ankle that traveled through my whole foot.

I’m trying not to complain, as all I wanted was to be okay for the party, and I made it. I survived! I knew today wouldn’t be my best, and I just didn’t let it get to me. I didn’t stress about my house or the cooking for tomorrow. I just did what I could.

My son finally cleaned his room, though I haven’t checked to see what he shoved behind his bed this time. Actually, I don’t even care, because it looks clean and that’s good enough for me tomorrow. It was so nice out and I was able to open the windows, which also added to my happiness. I’m ready for spring, though I think it’s supposed to get colder again tomorrow.

Pet Peeve of the Day

For those of you that know me personally (and there aren’t many because I haven’t announced my blog to family and friends after the reaction of my good friend when I brought it up), I have issues with typos and grammar. By trade, I’m an editor and a social media consultant. I also work with a nonprofit organization that helps families of children with special needs in my area. All of these things make me happy. I like what I do.

Issues arise, though, when I’m playing around on Facebook and I see all sorts of typos. I can’t help but wanting to fix them. Tonight, in particular, someone on one of the fibromyalgia groups that I am in posted about the loss of her father today. I swear there were like 20 comments saying “I’m sorry for your lost.”

I restrained myself from correctly people I don’t know, and I gave myself a bit of a laugh because I don’t proofread my own blog. I write from stream of conscious as to what’s on my mind. As an editor, if I went back and read it before publishing it, it would be set up with an article structure with headings, etc.

You can tell the posts that I made revisions to. They are the ones that look pretty, and have a nice flow and pace. I’m not working when I’m writing this blog. It just makes me feel good to share some of the daily struggles with people who understand. But PLEASE…remember, it’s “I’m sorry for your loss.”

I almost needed a xanax with all the grammar issues. Tonight’s picture is my cats enjoying the open window today. That relaxes me. Believe it or not, with today’s level of exhaustion, I just took a half of an Ambien. For some reason now that I can relax and sleep, I can’t!

Just ignore any tweets after this point. Blame the Ambien!

Leave a Reply

