Swollen Feet Suck

2718755681_c9c63f550e_z

My day didn’t start out too bad. I usually tutor an autistic client on Friday mornings. For the last few weeks, he hasn’t been doing so well. It’s really hit or miss on whether he can pay attention, focus, and stop the perseverative speech. For whatever reason, today was a fantastic day for him.

In the middle of being thrilled that we were accomplishing a lot in the session, my feet started hurting. Then they started to swell — so bad that I needed to take my shoes off because they were getting so tight that I couldn’t feel my toes.

I’ve never had this happen before. If I get swelling, it’s usually my hands or feet (or both). It became so bad that I had to reconsider stopping at Target on my way home from work because I had to take my shoes off as soon as I got in the car.

Just to give you an idea of how bad it was, I took my shoes off at noon and the indents on my feet where they were cutting off my circulation because of swelling are still there at 11:30PM. And these are cute, uncomfortable shoes. These are those ugly Dansko shoes that usually feel good on my feet because I have very high arches.

The Show Must Go On

It didn’t matter that I was going blind from the baby food job by 5pm and I had a raging headache that felt like the beginning of a migraine…my daughter’s play was tonight. Yes, she was only on stage for minutes, but I was a blubbering mess.

I know I’ve said it before, but this is just so huge for her. She smiled and sang her heart out, and most importantly she said it was fun (yay!!).

I watched the show tonight, and I’ll watch it again tomorrow afternoon, but by then frankly, I’ll have had enough of The Sound of Music. During the Saturday night and Sunday afternoon shows I’ll be volunteering watching the children’s ensemble group backstage.

I was really blown away by the talent on stage. We’re a small town, and I really didn’t know what to expect. The girl who played Maria was phenomenal and the whole cast just impressed me beyond belief. It was a great show.

But for right now, I have my feet elevated and I popped two Alleve, and I’m watching Jimmy Fallon. I just love him. He’s a great way to end my day with a smile. I hope you all are pain-free (or as best as can be expected). My happiness tonight is going to sleep knowing I don’t have to be up at a particular time tomorrow.

There’s nothing better than sleeping in, especially when I’ve had such a tough time sleeping this week.

Leave a Reply

