Making a List of Dumb Autoimmune Questions

4117663257_a782cc4ba3_m

I’m making a list and I need your help. What’s the dumbest thing someone has asked you or told you regarding you autoimmune disease? Please share it with me for my list by emailing it to autoimmunemama@gmail.com or by commenting on this blog post.

I hope to put together a list so we can laugh at the humor of it all. Either well-meaning comments or negative thoughts…I want to hear them all.

Also, don’t forget to join the Autoimmune Mama Facebook Group to connect with others suffering from autoimmune diseases.

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suzycoulson
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 05:12:56

    I’m constantly told that I just need to go to bed earlier or fix my diet/take vitamins.

    Reply

  2. Rebekah Miller
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 05:40:07

    “The only reason you’re sick is because you’re vegetarian.” <- I had RA before I was vegetarian. Vegan/vegetarian diets are shown to be anti-inflammatory and are therefore better for people with autoimmune disease than the typical American diet in the majority of cases.

    Reply

  3. Tracy
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 14:49:56

    You look fine, you just need to get out more.

    Reply

  4. mrsroadrash
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 16:13:53

    Looking at my Lupus rash, my grandfather asked 2 things. 1) isn’t that one of things women with lots of partners get?
    SMH
    and 2) are you sure it isn’t scabies? SMH twice
    So in other words my grandfather thinks I am slutty and dirty, gee wiz thanks papa

    Reply

  5. anet37
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 01:48:28

    Of course there’s the apple cider vinegar cure, and an old friend brought me little black Chinese pills

    Reply

  6. twistedrandall
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 17:11:54

    My mom said I hurt more because I am thinking about it and talking to people about it

    Reply

  7. Tracy
    Mar 29, 2014 @ 02:56:24

    From the Dr…. (no longer mine!)
    You really need to just get over the past and move on.
    WTF?

    Reply

  8. fefe23
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 00:59:27

    Can’t you go into remission?

    Reply

  9. Lupus Adventurer
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 05:19:20

    AM: If I had a dollar for every time someone said these comments, I wouldn’t need my medical savings account! “There’s a supplement that I read about that cured lupus,” “Just promise me you’ll read this article about what this lady did to cure her lupus,” “there’s a doctor who found a cure for lupus I saw on the Internet”, or the famous, “did you think about asking God to heal you?” The truth? The great miracle is living with lupus with joy, and if there really was a cure for lupus, it would be all over the 6 o’clock news every day for a year! LA

    Reply

  10. anafau84
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 14:06:34

    “but you’re too young to have arthritis, are you sure it’s something else?” has got to be what I’ve heard the most… I got diagnosed when I was 14, so getting people to understand that a 14 year old could have RA was almost impossible. That, and “you’ seem fine to me” or “you’re just being lazy, maybe if you exercised you wouldn’t be sick.” Ugh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

