Women, Friendship and Gwenyth Paltrow

Gwyneth_Paltrow_avp_Iron_Man_3_Paris

I slept most of today. This just isn’t my best week. It’s so cold that the wind feels like it’s whipping through my bedroom window. My hands are like ice cubes. The numbness is really starting to bother me. Today I slammed my thumb in a drawer. It didn’t hurt as bad as it should have because of the numbness.

Other than the extreme exhaustion, I’m doing okay today. I’m sure I’ll be up all night since I slept a lot during the day. I just needed the rest. Nothing seems to be helping the constant pain, though it’s manageable right now. It just stinks being in pain all the time. I don’t judge a day on being pain-free, it’s always what level of pain I’m at. There are very few pain-free days.

So this evening I was talking to my 9-year-old daughter about friendship. I’m blessed because she has a really nice group of close friends that are very sweet girls. I was explaining that good friends stand up for each other, and don’t let other kids be mean to their friends. My daughter started telling me a story about a girl in her class that was being really mean to one of my daughter’s good friends. The girl was yelling at the friend and said some mean things like calling her ugly.

My daughter told me that she told the girl to stop talking to her friend like that, which made me proud. It also made me think how mean girls and women are to each other in general. I call myself a recluse and anti-social because I can’t handle the drama. For some women, it’s no better at 40 than it was at 12. Some girls never grow out of hitting below the belt, where they know it will add to another girl’s insecurities.

Many women (and men) still judge a woman on how pretty she is. It’s a problem if she isn’t pretty enough, and it’s a problem if she’s too pretty. A beautiful woman is often called a bitch, etc. just out of jealousy. It’s upsetting that young girls treat each other badly, but it’s just as disappointing when woman don’t grow out of that stage. Some people thrive on gossip and nastiness.

I’m wondering how bad someone’s life has to be to take pleasure in someone else’s pain. I don’t waste my time being jealous of someone with a big house who doesn’t want for anything. I do get envious, though, of people who can do whatever they want without having to think of how much pain they are in, or how much pain an activity will cause.

I’m trying to raise my girls to like who they are and what they have. I spent too much of my life wishing I was like other people, that it took me a long time to really get to know and like me. Even with my autoimmune issues, I’m still fun and kind. If nothing else, I can go to sleep knowing that.

Today’s off-topic rant: Gwenyth Paltrow

What the hell is “Conscious Uncoupling”? Can she sound any more pretentious? I am not mocking the breakup of her marriage, or even questions their reasons for breaking up. The end of any marriage is difficult, let alone being in the public eye. But, why the heck does she need to release a statement that makes her and her husband above what normal divorcing couples are going through. Clearly other people didn’t consciously uncouple. Perhaps they randomly strayed or unconsciously drifted apart.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. fefe23
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 01:00:50

    I laughed at the statement too. She is treating her separation like a business. Weird

    Reply

Leave a Reply

