Just a Blah Day in Autoimmune World

6933630720_7666974f48_m

I just blah today. In terms of pain, today was not so bad. I’m thankful for that, but I feel like I could sleep all day. I’m not sure if it’s because my birthday is this weekend. I love birthdays, but for some reason as I get closer to the age that my mother passed away, I’m having a hard time.

This year I’m turning 42, and my mother died of ovarian cancer at 43. It’s a whole new perspective of how young my mother was, and how hard it must have been to know she was dying and leaving her children.

Now that I have children of my own, and I’m almost reaching that age, it’s just really hitting me hard. I need to focus on how thankful I am for every single minute with my kids, and for all the good days. My goal is to find something to laugh about every day, and I will say for the most part, I have a lot to laugh about — even if it’s at myself.

I’m not sure what we’ll be doing for my birthday, but it’s not much. Money is a little tight, so it might be dinner and cake at home this year. We’ll see. Usually the kids decide what they are doing for me, and that usually means me taking them out to dinner.

On another note, I’ve been cracking up all day at the hideous comments people have posted, emailed, and commented in response to my request for the worst things you could say to someone with an autoimmune disease. Okay, okay…they shouldn’t be funny, and they probably weren’t at the time, but I think it helps to laugh at the stupidity and ignorance that the Dr. Googles of the world spread around.

Heck if we listened to people like this, we’d all be cured by glucosamine chondroitin and Salonpas. When I read some of the stupid things people have said to my readers, all I could do it laugh and feel closer to them, because I get it.

An invisible disease is difficult for people to understand. I felt very alone in this, even though I had a few friends that tried to be there for me (including the one that thought this blog was a terrible and negative idea). People don’t want to hear that you are in pain all the time. They want you to respond that you are “fine” or “doing better” because they have no real time to hear your story.

So we stop sharing, or at least that’s what I did. There was an obvious look of disinterest from people and I just started saying I was fine. To connect with people who understand when you say you’re in pain but can’t even pinpoint what hurts, that’s been priceless to me.

Keep the stories coming. It’s going to be quite a list, and I know you’ll all at least crack a smile because we get it. We know how stupid these comments are.

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Renee
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 04:41:57

    I can’t wait to read these.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

