It’s My Birthday!

3299460134_4ff6696eca_m

Okay, that title sounds way more exciting than my day was, but it was a decent day. I was up until 2:30AM working on that website, and got up again this morning and worked from 9-12.

Then it was off to do something fun. The girls and I, along with my daughter’s best friend and her mom (all of our birthdays are within 2 weeks of each other) went to the spa. The girls got mani/pedis, and I splurged on a pedi with reflexology massage and then a 30 minute back and neck massage.

I planned on a 15 minute chair massage, but the guy took one look at my knots and his first words were, “oh wow that’s not good.” He ended up beating the crap out of me for 30 minutes and he took the time to explain that it was trigger points through my trapezius muscles and behind my shoulder blades that were so tight it was causing my afternoon headache.

Though I wanted to cry at one point when he was pushing on my knots, I felt like a new woman when I left. Unlike my last two massages, I’m still feeling pretty decent hours later. My last two triggered a migraine and really sore muscles.

Don’t get me wrong, my muscles are sore where he was digging into them, but it’s a good sore. So good that I made another appointment for Thursday! I figured I put an ungodly amount of hours in for work Friday through today, I am doing this for myself.

Some I’m another year older, and it doesn’t feel much different so far. I got a lot of nice messages by phone, email, and Facebook. All in all it was a decent day. We went out to dinner, which was nice and got home in time for everyone to go to bed.

Since I haven’t slept well for the past few nights I’m taking a half of an Ambien tonight so I can get some sound sleep. I know these long hours are going to catch up to me, but luckily I don’t have much on my plate for tomorrow…except laundry. Did I mention that I hate putting clothes away? I don’t mind washing them or drying them, but what a pain in the ass it is to fold them and put them away.

Today’s autoimmune tidbit:

When I was doing some research about fibromyalgia, I came across the various trigger points associated with the autoimmune disease. The unexpected one for me was the one on the side of the knee. It’s not an area that bothers me in general, but holy crap, when that area is touched it’s darn painful. Let me know if you have sensitivity there as well.

I hope you all had a pain-free weekend. it’s rainy and cold here, which isn’t helping my RA, but all in all, it wasn’t a bad birthday. I’ll take what I can get.

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 03:35:39

    Oh yeah, my knees are sensitive when touched. Same with the trigger point on the arms.
    Happy Birthday! Sounds like a good day!

    Reply

  2. autoimmunemamabear
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 03:45:01

    I think I’m so focused on the top of my shoulders and under my skull, that I can’t focus on any other pain. Oh it’s there, though 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

