No Big News

3179124771_9edf3c4963_m(1)

Well…I saw the doctor and I’m still fat. My last bloodwork was normal so we’re not talking an easy fix like thryoid levels. I just need to step up my exercise and cut my portions. She did mention that because my mom died at 43 of ovarian cancer, we technically don’t know what age she’d have start pre-menopause, so that could be contributing to things.

Because both my mother and grandmother had ovarian cancer, I am on a low dose of birth control to suppress ovarian function as recommended by my ob/gyn. This means I might not be noticing too many symptoms of pre-menopause. So, the first thing we decided is after a month of stepping up working out and dieting, if I don’t see any difference, we’re going to do a CAT scan to make sure there is nothing else going on.

There are no real symptoms other than bloating for ovarian cancer. I have a yearly ultrasound and in September my ovary “looked perfect” according to my doctor, so she really doesn’t think it’s that and she told me I need to stop stressing.

The other thing we discussed was my Celexa. There is the side effect of weight gain, but I have been on it for almost two years. I’m on a low dose and I feel good on it, so my first instinct was not to play around with it. The only change we did decide on was for me to go back on a daily dose of Topamax as a preventative for migraines. The only reason I went off of it was that when I initially was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis and they were discussing methotrexate and higher level treatments, I panicked and didn’t want to be on so many medications on a daily basis.

I went through a really tough period with migraines, having about three per week and was put on Topamax, which really did lessen the frequency and severity of my terrible headaches. Don’t mock..but it also has the side effect of suppressing appetite, so let’s just say it can’t hurt my current situation.

It’s not that I wanted to hear something was wrong, but I wanted there to be an easy fix, and there isn’t. So I stepped everything up today and I need to make big changes and more time for exercise. Luckily it was a beautiful day and I took my overweight dog for a walk. I also taught a tough class this morning, and followed up with my elliptical and weights this evening.

I’m no fool. I know I won’t be able to do this much every day, but when I can, I need to. Getting outside for a 20 minute walk was wonderful therapy. Just to be in the sunshine was priceless. In terms of food, I do really well during the day,  it’s around this time that I get so hungry. I just had two rice cakes with peanut butter. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll be able to get through the evening without snacking.

We did also talk about the welling in my hands and feet, and she did suggest trying a water pill when it gets bad. I’ll see how that goes. I’m taking one day at a time, and I’m happy to have been able to do as much as I did today.

And now an off-topic rant: a few weeks ago a young woman in our state was arrested for allegedly planning a school shooting. As I mentioned in a previous blog, I grew up in Sandy Hook and we live very close to the town now. I don’t take these threats lightly, but I also have strong belief that more needs to be done in our country about mental illness. Well, of course as I say there a few weeks ago thinking the absolute worst, I was glad that this crazy girl was stopped before she could hurt anyone. In fact, I still am.

So what changed? Tonight I realized that many years ago I met this year when she was about 5. My third or fourth cousin had just adopted her and another girl (not blood-related) from Russia. At the time she wasn’t aware of too many issues, but in an article I read tonight, that cousin was quoted as saying her daughter suffered from a mood disorder, personality disorder, ADHD, and had cut herself and attempted suicide.

I’m horrified at this news. Obviously we don’t know each other, but the article states that she stopped taking her medication and she is over 18. Maybe this isn’t the place for a rant, but heck, it’s my blog, and I really think as a country we need to do something about mental health care. I thank God that this girl and her boyfriend were stopped before they did any harm. I also pray her mother and grandmother as they try and put the pieces together and get her the help she desperately needs.

The whole situation just freaked me out. The incident in Sandy Hook changed my life forever. I remember every minute of that day and the fictitious facts were released bit by bit, and then the real story hit. I remember fearing for my children as we got the call that all schools in the area were on lockdown, And, I remember that feeling when my kids got off the bus that day. I pray for the parents whose children didn’t come home. This madness with school shootings needs to stop.

Ok, I’m off my soapbox.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 03:33:18

    LOL…I don’t know that I would call thyroid levels an easy fix, as I have Hashimoto’s and my problem is finding a dr who will treat it NOW instead of waiting until it’s worse. I also take topomax and boy, does it suppress appetite! But, I just can’t lose weight. Maybe if I get a dr to regulate my thyroid better???
    I completely agree about the need for better mental health care.

    Reply

  2. autoimmunemamabear
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 12:10:22

    I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to make light of thyroid issues. I was looking for a reason for the rapid weight gain and everything pointed in that direction. I think I was almost disappointed to hear it was just plain fat 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Where the Hell Did Spring Go? | Autoimmune Mama

Leave a Reply

