Off to the Rheumatologist I Go

7346204466_4a599b2612_m

I think the Topamax is catching up to me. I’m completely exhausted. I woke up and begrudgingly brought the kids to church, then came home and took a nap. My daughter had a friend over and luckily this girl is a doll. She played so well with my two girls and my son played in his room and finished some homework. I really can’t believe I was able to nap as long as I did, but I was so thankful because I could hardly keep my eyes open.

I do remember it being this way the first time I went on Topamax and it did get better after a few weeks. The problem is, I was exhausted BEFORE the Topamax, now I’m just ridiculous! This too shall pass. I missed a perfectly beautiful day, but I’m not going to beat myself up over it. I clearly wasn’t going to make it through without a nap.

I brought my son to his second day of travel baseball tryouts and I have to say I feel pretty good about how that went. As I mentioned yesterday, I didn’t have high hopes for him to make the team. I hope that doesn’t make me sound terrible, but I’m realistic. There are between 35-40 kids trying out and they are picking 12. To say my son is in the top 12 would not be true. He consistently gets better each year and he loves playing.

We found out today that the A-string travel team is a huge commitment, meaning they don’t want you to take vacations during that time, and we have one planned in July already. It just sounds way more demanding on time than we are looking for, so I’ll be relieved when we get the email on Wednesday that my son will be place on the B-string team. This team is still competitive with other towns, but isn’t as demanding on time, meaning you won’t have games both days on the weekends, etc.

I’m trying to have somewhat of a life here. I may be anti-social, but I do enjoy sitting by the pool and doing nothing. It’s one of my favorite past-times. I love to watch my kids swim, and if the water is warm enough (thank heavens for pool heaters) I really enjoy being in the water. Last year was the first year that I found that swimming each day made a huge difference with my rheumatoid arthritis. My swelling was non-existent and my body just felt better. I’d get in the pool with a noodle and do my crazy exercises and laps, and my kids would crack up laughing, but it really felt good.

I’m looking forward to that again…and the sun. I’m really looking forward to the sun!!

Tomorrow I am seeing the rheumatologist in the morning. As I mentioned yesterday I’m going to discuss MCTD and my thoughts on having that. I’m putting on starting Lyrica until further notice, which might be until next winter when my body decides it hates me again. I am going to ask about a different muscle relaxer because I don’t feel like the Flexeril is really doing anything anymore. I know it’s short notice, but if anyone reads this and is on a muscle relaxer for their fibromyalgia that they feel has been helpful, please let me know. I think I’d like to start there rather than go on Lyrica. I keep thinking, summer is coming, and I know I’m much better in the summer. I don’t want a huge change.

I truly appreciate any insight. I’m going to leave it up to my doctor as to whether we go the trigger point shots into my neck and under my skull again. We opted not to last time, but my migraines have been pretty powerful lately (thus the reason for starting Topamax again). I have a feeling we will discuss the options and decide on the shots, which will mean I’ll spend the afternoon icing myself. Ah…good times. The things we do to feel good. If it works, though, it’s so worth it.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 03:15:43

    I found flexeril did nothing positive for me, either…but I have those pesky drug metabolism problems. I can’t live without Tizanidine (Zanaflex). I get horrible, full body muscle spasms otherwise. They would be so painful I couldn’t even be touched, couldn’t be rubbed out and only a heating pad would help, but I don’t own enough of them! I am trying to dial back the meds, so figuring out what really works and what doesn’t is crucial for me! I know how you feel. I wish I had someplace to swim…when we could afford the health club, it helped so much, as you said.

    Reply

  2. Joan T Warren
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 03:49:37

    Just wondering if you read Reversing Fibromyalgia. I was able to get off Lyrica and never did tolerate muscle relaxers with the addition of vitamins and superfoods, and the reduction of processed gluten products like bread and pasta. I still have spasms and twitches but overall much better, as long as I move but don’t overdo. Also, abandoned ibuprofen and naproxen sodium, the were giving kick-back headaches. Now just use good ole’ Aspercreme topically for a flare. Epsom salts baths at night plus melatonin of sleep is robbed. Sleep is so important. Hope some of this helps, hang in there, you are worth the battle to beat this thing.

    Reply

  3. Renee
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 07:55:06

    I use titans dine for a make relaxer. I took soma for a long time but I didn’t like the loopy feeling it gave me. Titan a dine isn’t the best I’ve had but it’s worked consistently the last year. I’d do anything to not take lyrica. Hate hate hate it but I stopped taking it for a month and thought I was going to die the entire time. It was worse than coming off fentanyl. Never make that mistake if ever you end up talking it. Iwent from 2 225mg pills to nothing and now I’m taking 1 75 mg a day until I work my way back up slllowly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

