Migraine and Other Happy News

5964559628_ddeea0db88_m

As you can guess by the title, I have a migraine this evening. I don’t know that I can blame the man who beat the crap out of my during my deep tissue massage, which by the way was wonderful. I was starting the migraine before I went in for the massage this morning. In fact, I took some Excedrin Migraine to try and knock it out before it got bad.

The massage helped as he dug into the knots beneath my skull and where my shoulders meet my neck. I actually felt significantly better when I left, but a few hours later the migraine was back in full force. As soon as I finish tonight’s blog, I’m off to bed in a room full of darkness.

Aside from the migraine, today was good day. My father had his test, which should no blockages in the arteries and also showed that the valve in his heart that they thought had deteriorated was not in bad shape. As of now, he is not scheduled for surgery, which is great news. He is still having some shortness of breath, so the plan is for him to go back to the doctor’s office next Thursday to discuss that further. All in all, it was good news and my dad is doing well after his test. This was a huge relief.

The second bit of good news came in the form of a phone call from the voice coach that my daughter auditioned for on Monday. I had all but given up hope at this point because we hadn’t heard back from her other than an email saying she’d contact me to discuss my daughter’s evaluation. When she called today she started off by saying she doesn’t take on students my daughter’s age for a reason, and that reason is that they don’t usually have the concentration to do an hour lesson. With voice lessons you spend a good 20-25 minutes warming up the voice, so a 30 minute voice lesson is kind of useless in her opinion.

She said my daughter has a beautiful tone and understands music well. She has a good range for her age, but most of all she has excellent concentration. She was highly focused during the one hour audition, SO…the voice coach offered to take her on as her youngest student ever. I will never, ever put this on Facebook, because girls are mean. My daughter went from painfully shy, to shy and working on it. I just know this will help her with her confidence in herself.

I’m not saying she’s going to be the next Barbra Streisand or Lady Gaga, but this is something she loves and wants to pursue, and I want to help her achieve her dreams. Needless to say, I had a little cry today. I’m so proud of her, even though she was the biggest crab ever this evening over chocolate chip cookies…apparently I bought the wrong ones! I am very excited for her.

A laugh at my expense today:

I was grocery shopping with my son and my youngest daughter. My son walked off to get some eggs and came back and said he thought he saw my friend Heather. Heather is a very funny person, so I thought it would be funny if he walked up behind her and said, “Hey, um…do you come here often?” My boy doesn’t back away from a challenge from his mom, so he giggled off to find her.

Moments later he came back with a horrified look on his face. “OMG, my it wasn’t her!”

What is the appropriate mom thing to say at this moment? You’ve just advised your child to go hit on a woman four times his age. It clearly didn’t go well. I mean, is there a proper etiquette for this situation? If so, I didn’t know it. I started laughing…because you know, that’s helpful. I promised him we’d get out of the store as fast as possible and we left.

I’m still laughing about it, and of course I had to tell my friend Heather. Any chance of me winning Mother of the Year is blown today! Better luck tomorrow!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mudpilewood
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 07:58:55

    I wouldn’t strike you off the list as Mother of the Year just yet. I admire you for instilling confidence in a shy daughter, it takes a lot of patience and hard work but believe me it is worth it in the end. My reward came last year when my no. one daughter took me on a holiday to Rome and we had a great time. She was so confident and relaxed it made it extra special to me.

    Reply

  2. barbaramarincel
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 04:10:28

    Great story, and congrats to both you and your daughter! I hope your migraine feels better soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

