Rain, Rain, Go Away

1966950_10154089575690243_4372595414989869692_n

It’s raining again in Connecticut…there’s some shocking news. It’s also cold again. The combination of cold and rain with autoimmune diseases equals hell. Not to mention whatever the hell I did in my Pilates class yesterday to try to achieve smaller boobs seemed to have had more effect on my triceps. I woke up this morning and could hardly move my arms, but this was the good kind of pain. The kind from when you really work your muscles hard in a workout.

Today was another busy day. I had a few conferences calls, one of which I totally feel asleep on–do not tell anyone! It was just one thing after another. I’m editing a novel for a client. I was working on a website about trees for another client, and lo and behold the baby food people need a whole other section to their site. I had a busy week before today. It’s even busier now!

Luckily despite the cold and not being able to stay warm, I feel pretty good. My pain and stiffness seemed more from my own doing, and less because of my RA and fibro today. I did wake up with a headache, but it didn’t seem to last. I’m enjoying the last 24+ hours of being migraine free, but I don’t want to shout it from the rooftops just yet. I hate to jinx myself.

One other positive to point out is that I’ve been pretty tired at night. I think the Topamax for the migraines certainly helps, but I haven’t needed Ambien at all, and other than last night I’ve been asleep before midnight for over a week. It’s been nice!

Tomorrow is one big ass day of running around. I have to teach my class, go buy boob tape, then drop auction items off to my director, pick up my dress and pray that the boob tape works, and finally get home and do some work on baby food! I just need to pace myself.

Today’s soapbox moment is on kindness. I mean, how hard is it really to be kind? Especially for woman! Is it really necessary for women to spend time knocking each other down instead of building each other up? I mean, I don’t think it’s unreasonable to want to be in a group of people who want me to succeed, because I wish that for them. I’m excited for my friends when they win something, get a promotion, or their child gets straight A’s. Those are all great things.

Do they make me less of a person? Of course not! Women need to stop thinking that way. One women’s success does not equal the failure of the other women around her. BUT, the women achieving the success also needs to do so with grace. There are those that are proud of the accomplishments of their children, and then there are those that post pictures of every pitch their child makes at every baseball practice, with comments linking him to a future in the major leagues.

Let me get this out there. I hope your child does make it to the major leagues, but the chance of that happening are slim. Don’t set him up for failure by convincing him that he is the best and there is no one better…why? Because there is someone better, an that child will help your child learn. There is always someone who knows more, and instead of spending time being jealous, spend time learning from them.

I spent time today listening to a few different grown women complain about other women on the PTO. First of all, I am anti-social and I don’t do the PTO. I fully respect all the moms that put their time and effort in, because it’s a huge job. I’m a working mom, and I volunteer whenever I can, but I am not a people person. I get freaked out walking into a room of clique-y moms…and that’s how it is in my town.

Anyway, one mom is pissed at another mom, another mom is pissed at the principal. I could go on, but you get this idea. The spend all this time talking about each other, and I said to one of them, I just don’t want to hear this. If you don’t like “her” that’s fine. Just be friendly, but you don’t have to be her friend. Is it ever okay to be unkind? We’re talking the PTO, not world peace. Today’s message is take a deep breath and think of the war your fighting and the message you might be teaching your daughters.

I want my girls to build their friends up, not knock them down. My daughter has no skills in basketball whatsoever. Her best friend is a tremendous basketball player. It’s important to my daughter to support her friend in something that her friend loves and is good at. I may not be perfect (I can guarantee that), but I’m doing some things right!

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. livingincurably
    May 03, 2014 @ 19:17:03

    I agree with you that the combination of cold and rain with autoimmune diseases equals hell. Can Pilates really make your boobs *smaller*? I am mystified.

    Reply

    • autoimmunemamabear
      May 04, 2014 @ 04:54:04

      Sadly, no! I think you can do a certain amount to tighten through the back and lift, but if you’re a D-cup there’s no way you’re going to a B without surgery 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

