Happy Mother’s Day

3378743136_a285d164f4_m(1)

It’s a late work night again for me…and yes, I’m working on a Saturday! I’m trying to finish another edit of this novel before I do a final proof. People don’t realize how many times you actually have to read a book before it goes to the printer. It’s enough where I feel like I’ve read each sentence many, many times, but that’s they only way to prevent errors. Each time I read it I inevitably find something I want to change, or a comma I forgot, etc. It’s a process…and a long one.

I’m trying to get it back to the author again by Monday morning so she and I can both do a final read again by Tuesday. Talk about getting up close and personal with a book. Usually things aren’t so rushed, but this poor girl was getting totally screwed over by a self-publisher, and it’s too good of a story to allow it to be published in the way that they were going to do it. I’m a sap. I offered to help on this schedule, knowing it would be working late nights, etc. I do hope the book does well for her. I really think it’s a great toung adult novel. Once I got into it, I loved it, and that’s saying a lot considering the amount of crap I’m forced to read because of my job.

I had another decent day in terms of pain. It started again with the numbness and tingling in my fingers and toes, but it resolved a lot quicker than it has been. My right leg is bothering me a bit, but nothing that I can’t handle. Overall, I’ve been feeling very happy to be up and around without the tremendous pain I had been in just a few weeks ago. A lot of it has to do with the warmer weather.

Today we reached 80 degrees and it felt so good! Yes, we had a torrential downpour in the middle of the day, but who’s counting. Tomorrow is Mother’s Day, which is a bittersweet day for me. My mother passed away from ovarian cancer when I was fourteen. It’s just always been a tough day for me, even though I am now a mom myself. I try and escape doing the big family event in favor of doing something fun, so tomorrow we are going to the Bronx Zoo in New York. The kids are super excited and I’m really looking forward to it.

It’s supposed to be a really nice day, and it’s kind of a non-traditional way of spending the day. I don’t need flowers or brunch…I’d rather just do something fun with the kids. I’m not sure how I’ll do with a full day of walking, but I guess this will be my practice run for Disney World.

I want to wish all my autoimmune mommy friends a very Happy Mother’s Day tomorrow. I hope you get to do exactly what make you happy, and that your day is pain free!

 

 

Leave a Reply

