Diet Day One…I’m Hungry

5600803415_98fafb2f88_m

So it’s Day One of my Take Shape for Life/MediFast Diet. Here is what I have learned so far. The oatmeal has a weird consistency, but it was okay. The bars are quite good, especially the mint chocolate one. I could eat quite a lot for dinner. I made chicken with broccoli and cauliflower. I finished my day with another bar and then what I thought was mint chocolate pudding, but I think it was supposed to be more along the line of soft serve ice cream made with crushed ice and cold water. It was more like a cold pudding, but I enjoyed it.

Honestly, I wasn’t hungry today, even though my coach (who happens to be a girl that I know) said I would be…until now. It’s 11PM and I’m hungry. I’m drinking water. I may go for a cup of tea, which might be more filling, but boy could I go for a snack. A cookie. A chip. I few cherries or raspberries. But, I’m going to stick to the plan. My coach told me that the first three days are the most difficult.

Beyond the first month to jump start my weight loss, what I can see myself doing is continuing with the nutrition bars. It just seems so easy to have those on hand when I’m out and about, or even when I’m home working. Eventually I will move to more homemade meals, but the bars will serve as snacks and breakfast, since I’m not much of a breakfast person.

Anyway, the point it I made it. It sounds silly, but one day at a time. Tomorrow I will weigh myself because I completely forgot to do it today. I’ve been so darn busy, I haven’t done anything but work, prepare for war with the school district, and be a chauffeur for my kids. Tomorrow after I finally get this novel off my desk for good, I’m going to do laundry and take a nap.

The good news is that I’m feeling good. I’m not sure if I mentioned that my doctor also lowered my dose of Celexa to 10mg to see if that might be adding to my weight gain. I’m surprised to report that I haven’t noticed any difference in terms of my anxiety. A few months ago when I tried to go off of the 20mg without consulting my doctor (or maybe it was the 40mg…I’m not sure) I had huge mood swings and scared the crap out of my kids while searching for a memory card for the camera. I can laugh about it now, but at the time, it was like my world was ending because nothing was ever in its place and no one care about my stuff, etc. It was ugly. I could feel the rage and I knew it wasn’t a good thing. This time around, I actually asked my doctor before going off the medicine and we reduced the med to 10mg for a month first.

If I find that I’m doing well and the weight comes off, my first instinct would be to stay at 10mg for a little why, thought she said I could try things without it after a month. We’ll see how I feel in a month. So that’s the good news. The other good news to report is that my pain less has also been decent. Aside from the pins and needles, which come and go randomly, the warmer weather has really been a blessing.

Not to have to sit with heating pads and constantly warm my ice cold hands is beyond priceless. I think the rest of the week is supposed to rain, so who knows what that will bring, but for now I’m enjoying the warm weather and sunshine.

Leave a Reply

