Memorial Weekend Recap

index

Truth be told, I wrote a really long blog on Saturday night. It was an Ambien rant and I must have fallen asleep before I hit publish (lucky for you). It was filled with typos and it went in several different directions, but I think my topic of choice was really on friendships…and that my son fell out of a tree…and off of a basketball hoop. Let’s just say, he was an accident waiting to happen on Saturday and I was contemplating covering him in bubble wrap to make it through the parade and picnics on our agenda for Sunday.

Saturday and Sunday were very tough days for me in terms of my RA. I woke up Saturday and could hardly walk. I ended up going to a friend’s son’s First Communion party and then bailing on an anniversary party later that evening because I could hardly stand. This left me with a predicament for Sunday. I wasn’t walking well, and I had a lot of walking to do.

For the first time since my foot surgery over a year ago, I went out in public using my cane. This was a huge ordeal for me. As I have mentioned, despite my decision to blog about my autoimmune disease, I am an intensely private person. I don’t like to let people know how much pain I’m in. I’m completely fine unloading on my blog to people who are reading a blog about autoimmune diseases. I’m guessing you got to my blog because you either suffer from an autoimmune disease yourself, or you somehow found the blog post with the picture of my beautiful lawn flamingo Brutus, and got hooked. Either way, you’re here!

I packed the girls into the car (my son was marching with his football team) along with a blanket and a folding chair and my cane and we were off. I fought off a slight panic attack as I was getting out of the car, and told myself to grow up and that I was making a big deal out of nothing. The reality was I just didn’t want to answer questions. It had very little to do with the cane itself, it was the endless conversations and stupid questions that I truly was trying to avoid. Okay, and I also didn’t really want the looks of pity either. Honestly, I’ve been doing great lately. The past two days completely sucked, but the three weeks before that were great with hardly any pain at all.

I started my trek with my cane and had to keep reminding my daughters to slow down. My friend saw me when we were approaching our usual parade spot and she grabbed the chair from me and asked how I was doing. She didn’t make a big deal out of it, and simply helped me set up my chair and started chatting. I have good friends. They know me well enough to know that I don’t like fuss.

Worse than the parade was walking into a big inlaw party with my cane. I swear the funniest moment was when my mother-in-law said “oh, my! What Happened?” and I responded that it was just a bad day for my rheumatoid arthritis. She then said, “Oh, I didn’t know you had the same thing I do?” To which I replied, “I don’t! You don’t have rheumatoid arthritis. You have osteo-arthritis.”

Oh the fun that is each and every time I get to explain it. And it’s not like we haven’t had the conversation before. One night when I’m annoyed, I’ll tell you about the time she asked why I never told her that I was adopted (keep in mind, it was news to me that I WAS adopted as I had no freakin idea what she was talking about). That was one of my favorite conversations ever.

Anyway, I survived the events with my cane. No one made a big deal about, which was good. I also decided that I am way too cool for a boring cane. If I am going to have to use a cane now and then because of my hip, I need one that looks like a flamingo. I’m totally on the case to find one. I found someone who has a supplier that will design one to spec. I think I’ll just feel better about the whole thing if I have a crazy cane.

Today was a better day. I didn’t need my cane at all, and I had the excitement of cleaning my house. I spent all day cleaning and it still looks messy to me.

I’m a little worried about my self-weigh-in tomorrow as I did a bit of cheating at the picnics this weekend, including a piece of chocolate cream pie and a cookie. Overall the damage could have been MUCH worse, but I don’t know if I’ll make the three pounds I was hoping for. Right now I’m praying I didn’t gain anything.

I hope you all enjoyed the long weekend and took some time to remember why we celebrate Memorial Day. Thank you to the men and women who gave their lives for our freedom and to those who continue to fight for it.

Leave a Reply

