Let’s Go Rangers!

10273111_10204038699029163_2852511660470034853_o

First, let me give a shout out to my favorite hockey team, who hasn’t been to the Stanley Cup Finals in twenty years. It was an exciting game. I don’t think I breathed for the final few minutes, but they did it! I’ve been waiting a long time for this.

Today was a decent day. I’m feeling pretty good, not nearly as stiff as I was a few days ago. It’s just been a stressful week being a mom. My son is having friend drama again. This time his baseball “friends” told him that he sucks and that he should probably quit. You can imagine how well that went over with an already insecure ten-year-old who is struggling to fit in with the cool kids. Not well! All year he has tried to be friends with these twins. For their privacy, I’ll call them Frick and Frack. I won’t say they are bad kids. They’re not. They just aren’t sensitive kids. They are the kids making fun of the special needs kids, calling them “retards.” That doesn’t sit well with me.

The problem is the dads are friends and have been since college. My husband is Frack’s godfather. That certainly adds an interesting layer, doesn’t it? So for whatever reason, my son thinks they are cool and really wants to be friends with them, and I think he finally learned that they just aren’t good friends to him. Friends don’t talk behind your back. Friends build you up, not tear you down. But this left him with a whole new problem. Frick and Frack seem to control the whole group of friends, so my son felt like he has no friends. Is this true? Of course not. He’s melodramatic, but try explaining that to him! It’s how he feels and all I can do is listen and try and reassure him that he does have some solid friendships.

This parenting stuff is hard! I feel like I’m part mom/part therapist! Of course, we really wanted him to get an awesome hit today and look Frick right in the eye and say, “See, I don’t suck!” Unfortunately, it was a miserable game for the entire team…probably our worst of the season. Hoping for a huge hit on Saturday…like a game crushing hit. If you all could send a few prayers for my non-Derek Jeter son, I’d sure appreciate it.

Regarding my RA, today was a better day. My hips, knees, and elbows have been really sore and stiff. I did seem to have more energy today, but not quite enough to go for a walk outside. I get manage to clean, which needed to be done.

Tomorrow is Play Day at my youngest daughter’s school and I’m excited to be volunteering. It’s her last year in this school that only houses Kindergarten and First Grade students. My baby is growing up and I’m not sure how I feel about that, but I am thinking tomorrow will be a lot of fun to see her and her class do all their activities. I’m truly just happy to be feeling well enough to be able to participate in this stuff. Two months ago it would have been iffy.

Lastly, I’d like to mention that I’ve been encouraged to start a twitter account for Brutus. Oh it didn’t take much arm twisting. You can follow him @brutusflamingo

 

 

Leave a Reply

