A Mish-Mosh of Thoughts

4989262196_574e586e39_m

It’s been a long few days. I started a blog last night and lost my mojo about two paragraphs into it. I started out very energetic yesterday. I taught a ridiculously tough class, and then I paid for it the rest of the day. I thought I pulled something in my shoulder, but then every one of my fibro trigger points started to flare, and my knees started to really hurt.

I ended up going to bed early with ice packs. Today I woke up with sore abs, which is always something that makes me happy because it means I taught a good class the day before. My body was sore from the workout, but not really in joint or fibro pain, which was a bit of a surprise, as I thought I was headed into a big flare.

I ended up being able to sleep most of the morning, which was nice. I’ve been dealing with a lot with my son, and it’s really been weighing on me. Today I got an email from a neighbor asking if my son told me what happened on the bus this morning. Of course, that answer was no. She explained that two boys were picking on him so bad that the driver got involved. When one of the boys told the driver “everyone hates” my son, my neighbor’s daughter stood up and said she liked him and he was a great person. How sweet is that. That took a lot of guts for a fifth grade girl to stand up to older boys on the bus. Kudos to her, she certainly has my thanks and respect.

The trouble with this particular instance is one of the boys is the son of a friend of mine. Awkward. Now my son isn’t innocent, but he’s not mean. The problem with my son is he’s insecure and tried way too hard to fit in. In the process he says dumb things to look cool…and the cool kids see right through that attempt. I’ve tried telling him to just stop and be himself. He’s such a nice kid. People will like him for who he is, but he’s at that age where he so wants to be cool. It’s not an easy time for me as a parent. In fact, it sucks!

Anyway, enough of my parenting drama. Let me get to my friend drama of the week. Remember that friend that didn’t want me to write the blog? I think I mentioned he deleted me from Facebook because I snapped at him one evening. Well, he also blocked me now (childish, I know) because he found out that I commented about him unfriending my dog. Haha! That even sounds funny writing it out.

So it got me to thinking about our friendship a few days ago. Over the past four or five years, he’s friended and unfriended me more times than I can count. I always cut him some slack because I know he’s had a rough life and I know he has a lot on his plate being a single father, etc. Well, this time I thought, you know what, I’m not a schmuck. At some point when he needs something or when his latest BFF turns out to be a jerk, he’ll remember that I’m a good person and decide to contact me, and this time I’m just not going to be around for that opportunity. I took the childish route and blocked him, too. And you know what? It felt darn good, and I haven’t thought twice about the decision. I wish him nothing but the best, but I don’t need his drama. Done.

Tomorrow starts my weekend of dance recital mania. It’s our first group of recitals with this dance studio, so I’m really excited to see how it all works. I get nervous, but the girls seem happy. It should be cute. I love seeing them perform. I’m fairly sure my youngest daughter is as excited about getting to wear makeup on stage as she is about her dance. I think my teenage years with her are going to put me over the edge.

And now some random thoughts on the world:

#1. Justin Bieber needs to go away. That video of him singing using the N-word is terrible, especially because he would not be where he is without the help of Usher, who happens to be black. In my book, Bieber is an ass.

#2. Gwenyth Paltrow: I think I said this the other night, but it’s worth repeating. Gwenyth is a pretentious ass.

#3. I’m not sure what to think of the Bowe Bergdahl situation. I feel like there is so much more to the story. Why did we release 5 high ranking Taliban people for him. I’m all about not leaving any of our men behind, but did he really walk off and put other men in danger doing so? Did other men lose their lives looking for him? I have so many questions.

#4. Do I care that Kendall Jenner got her own apartment? Tat Kanye bought Kim a painting or that Kourtney is pregnant? No! I wish they’d all go away.

Last, are you following Brutus on Twitter? @Brutusflamingo He has a lot to say on pop culture.

 

Have a good night!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fefe23
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 23:30:04

    Gwenyth is so stuck up. She says something pretentious every other week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

