Go Away Exhaustion

1956473175_5b22bf2df7_m

I don’t have time to be this exhausted. I taught my class (not nearly as hard as Tuesday) and went out for a quick breakfast with a friend that was diagnosed with cancer. I had no time to be exhausted, as I really wanted to focus on her. I wouldn’t say we are super close, but she is the type of person that you meet and love right away. She’s funny and kind, and she likes the same trashy reality television as I do.

She has had a crazy year, first with a blood clot in her leg and now with cancer in her bone marrow. The levels are very low and at this time they are watching er very closely with blood work every few weeks. Should something drastically change she’ll either need to do oral chemo or regular. Either way, suffice it to say, she’s got a lot on her plate. She is choosing not to dwell on waiting for that moment to happen because it could be next week or it could be ten years from now. They have no idea.

It was really inspiring to talk to her and see the way she was handling her situation, and it certainly made me put my own things in perspective. The other thing I left that breakfast thinking was that I am so lucky to have so many people in my life that crack me up on a daily basis. Laughter really does help with everything.

So with that perspective I went forward with my aches and pains and took them in stride. The exhaustion was another story though, as I came home and could hardly stay awake. I took a nap for about an hour and a half…really could have slept longer, but I had to pick up my older daughter early from school because of a dress rehearsal for dance.

I talked with my friends today about the situation with my son on the bus, and they spoke to their son. I’m just feeling a lot better about it. I got so stressed because of everything that’s gone on with my son lately and all the bullying, but these people are great parents, and I know their son is a good kid. It was good to get the other side of the story and I feel much better knowing that they talked to him and he understands a little better that my son is just struggling to fit in, something his parents said he struggled with last year.

My girls had their rehearsal and it was adorable. I love watching them perform. I think my younger daughter is so in lover with her costume, that she was just so happy to twirl around. She little class was kind of all over the place, but it was so darn cute. My older daughter has grown a lot as a dancer this past year. I’m really excited to see the show on Saturday. It will be fun.

In terms of my autoimmune issues, the only things I’m really struggling with is the exhaustion. I’m just so darn tired. It’s not that I haven’t been sleeping. I’ve fallen asleep around midnight every night or earlier, which for me is not bad at all. Taking the melatonin early has been helping me. Tonight I forgot so I took a half of an Ambien. I’ll end this blog soon before it kicks in and I start rambling or open another browser page and start shopping.

I hope everyone is doing well and having a pain-free evening.

 

Leave a Reply

