That’s Right…I’m a Dance Mom

4661183608_edcb82b5c5_m

My daughter’s had their big dance recital this weekend. Because of a conflict with the town’s eighth grade dinner dance, the usual Friday and Saturday shows were nixed in favor on two shows on Saturday to accommodate all the eighth grade dancers that wanted to attend both the recital and the school dance. Believe me, I can understand that, but it sure made for a long day!

We got to the school where the recital was taking place around 10AM because I was volunteering backstage for the first show. I’m such a team player. I like that stuff and my older daughter is very shy. It helps her to get settled if I’m there. They had a very nice set up for the girls with a large screen tv to watch the show while they weren’t performing. This made my life as a backstage mom much easier. No one was bored.

This is our first year at this dance studio so it was a new experience for us and I was surprised to learn that parents were allowed to go into the audience to watch their child’s performance even if they were volunteering. The owner feels strongly that everyone should see their child perform. Perhaps she should send that memo to the other studio in town. That would never happen over there.

Anyway, my girls did awesome. I was so proud of both of them. My little one was so darn adorable up there. You could tell she just loved every moment of being in that flowy dress and twirling around. My older daughter really has grown as a dancer this year. It was a very proud mom day for sure.

It was also a tough mom day in that I was on my feet from about 10AM to 7PM with a break from 3-5pm. It was a lot on my feet and legs. When I got home last night my head was pounding and everything hurt. I attempted to start a blog, but I ended up putting ice over my eyes and turning out the lights. It was clear I did too much yesterday, but it was one of those days where, what choice did I have? As a mom, you just need to do it some days!

The begs the question, as a mom what do you do? What do you do when you know you’re pushing it way too far and it’s going to cause a flare or a migraine or major pain later? For me, if it’s something involving my kids, I usually push through and do it if at all possible. They are only going to be young once.

Remarkably I felt pretty good today. Then I had to trek about a quarter of a mile or more carrying a shit load of flyers and handouts for the nonprofit organization that I work for. I was volunteering at a Special Olympics event, which was so much fun. I got to meet so many great people and some of the athletes, but I didn’t give one shred of thought to how far I’d need to cart all the crap. Suffice it to say, I got my workout and then some today. My right arm is really sore tonight.

I’m actually looking forward to Monday tomorrow. It’s one of the last school days left and I can go back to sleep after I put the kids on the bus. I live for those days. I’m just not a morning person at all. I do have a goal for tomorrow of cleaning out my daughters’ room, though. It’s a pig sty. I need to get rid of crap before school gets out, so the goal is to take care of their room tomorrow and my son’s room on Tuesday, but his room isn’t nearly as bad.

We’ll see how motivated I am tomorrow…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

