It’s a Rheumatoid Kind of Day

6076334458_84b70e8b13_m

My day didn’t start out too bad. I didn’t wake up with too much pain, but gradually as my day went on, I got slower and slower. I had big plans to clean today. I got some of it done, but most of my plans were thwarted by increasing stiffness. My lower back just tightened up and my hips and legs followed along.

I haven’t had a day where I wanted to use my new cane yet, but today came very close. If tomorrow is more of the same, it might be the big day that I break in the flamingo cane when I have to take the girls to musical theater camp. Musical theater camp! I’m laughing even as I type that. Where do they come up with this crap?

When I was a kid they just had camp. There was no theater camp or football camp, or Minecraft camp. I don’t know, maybe there were specialty camps and we just didn’t do them. My mom was a teacher so she was home all summer. We didn’t really do camp. I never had an interest. I wanted to play with my friends.

This will be the first time my girls have ever done camp, but they are going together and it’s at their dance studio with their dance teacher, so the anxiety is non-existent. My son will do a golf camp later in the summer. He does that every year. He’s a darn good golfer. I’m trying to convince him to stop focusing on baseball and put all is focus into golf because he really has talent in that.

I’m sick of having to pray through baseball games that the ball doesn’t get hit to him, or that he hits the ball. It causes me so much stress, I can’t even tell you. He practices so hard, and he really has improved this year. He hits the ball pretty well. But, he’s not the strongest player on his team and his “friends” don’t let him forget that.

My thought is, he’s really good at golf. Put all your energy into that and kick some ass in that in a few years when school has a golf team. Guess what? No one is going to be playing football when they are 40, but people are still going to be playing golf. That means nothing to a ten year old.

I mentioned yesterday that we lost two people in a very short period of time. As luck would have it, their services are at the same times on the same days. I am going to go to both wakes, and I am unable to go to the funerals. It’s just as well. I don’t do well at funerals. I get so emotional. I actually think the one for the little boy would be too much for me to take. I have to recognize my limits and the stress from that would send me into a flare.

I’d be surprised if the stress from everything doesn’t have something to do with the flare I seem to be having today. I don’t recall doing anything physical that would have caused this type of joint pain. The lower back stiffness is just so hard to explain. It feels like a bone pain and a muscle pull at the same time. Sometimes it’s hard to tell whether it’s the rheumatoid arthritis or the fibromyalgia.

I know the hip, knee, and feet pain are the RA, but the muscular pain through the top of my shoulders into my neck and on the inside of my knees has more to do with the fibro. At least those are common fibro trigger points. I’m hoping I feel well enough to get out and walk tomorrow, after I vacuum the house and force the kids to clean their rooms. We’ll see how it goes…one step at a time.

It seems like just when I have a period of feeling pretty darn good, then I have a day that reminds me I still have an autoimmune issue.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebekah Miller
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 02:41:07

    I need a cane when I walk in the woods now. I’m not amused.

    Reply

  2. fefe23
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 13:27:20

    I’ve been having back pain and its so annoying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

