Is It the Storms or an RA Flare?

14358978948_c695da70bb_m

Does your rheumatoid arthritis get worse when there are storms coming? We’ve been having a heatwave and both last night and tonight we had these terrible thunderstorms with crazy lightning and high winds. Tonight’s storm, I believe was what we are getting of storm Arthur in this area. Or, maybe that’s tomorrow. I can’t keep up. It’s supposed to rain and storm all day again tomorrow as well.

I’m not sure whether this is adding to or causing the extreme amount of pain I’m in. As I mentioned the other night, I took a pill for pain, and I’m in the same boat again tonight. Actually, I’m worse. The pain medicine isn’t even touching what I’m feeling. It’s like my right hip has seized up and I have no range of motion at all through the joint. It’s causing pain both in my lower back, my left hip (which is trying to compensate), and also my whole right leg. Let’s take a moment to look at the positives: I don’t have a migraine during the storm. My hands and fingers aren’t swollen or in pain, and I still have my sense of humor.

At the moment, though the negative is really a pain in the ass…literally. I’m not sure if this is a the start of a full blown arthritis flare or if it’s the result of me overdoing it in combination with the storms going on. Obviously, I’m hoping for the latter, but I don’t have time for a flare.

Today was another day of rushing around. I taught my Pilates class this morning with the help of my youngest daughter, who is an absolute trip. Not only did she re-name most of the exercises we were doing, she also asked if she could teach something–I’ll admit I was a little panicked as to what that was going to be, but she taught a stretch she learned in gym. She was absolutely hysterical and had my whole class cracking up this morning. The problem is that she thinks she’s going to be my co-teacher for the rest of the summer now. It’s funny. I received three emails today from ladies that take my class on how much fun it was to have her there, but my class is also a break from the kids. Let’s just say she’ll be back, but not every class. She really is such a funny kid. I love her way of looking at things. She’s such a positive, happy little soul.

If I can say anything I’ve done right, it’s that all three of my kids are sensitive when they see someone else sad or hurting. They read people well (okay, maybe they miss the cues when I’m getting fed up with their silliness). They do seem to have that ability to know when a person needs comforting or encouragement, and they are great at offering it.

My older daughter had her voice lesson today and learned three new songs. One of the songs she loved so much that she worked on it for hours today. Despite having told her voice teacher today that she’s still not ready to do a solo in the fall concert, she came up to me around 5pm and announced that she would be singing that song by herself in the concert and in order to work through her fear, she wanted to sing the song several times in front of smaller groups of family. After I picked my jaw up off the floor, I told her I thought that was a wonderful idea. In all honesty, this song from Les Mis is the best song I’ve heard her do. I knew right away when she started singing that she was going to love it, but something about it clicked with her.

Around 6pm she wanted to go to my parents house (they live up the road) and sing it for them, so we did. Usually, I’m not one to drop everything while making dinner when one of my kids wants to do something, but you really have to understand how huge this is for my daughter. I know I’ve mentioned before that she is painfully shy. She has no problem being silly with her friends and family, but she didn’t talk through most of kindergarten unless it was to answer a question from the teacher, or to one or two girls in the class. She’s growing so much, and I need to encourage it.

So where am I going with this? My son…who was a complete pain in the butt today because his father didn’t give him his ADD medicine (I won’t even start that rant today) sat don’t and listened to his sister sing. He didn’t say too much at the time and then went about playing, but an hour or so later I heard him tell her that she was a really good singer and that he knew she was going to be just as great as the teenagers that were in the concert the other day. Proud Mommy moment.

It’s summer. My kids have been annoying the crap out of each other to the point that I brought all three of them into my son’s therapy session to address how they treat each other. They had an assignment this week to make the time to ask each other to play more. This made my son’s comment even more special. His “assignment” was about asking one another to play games together (they were all upset with each other that no one ever wants to play and they were all mad, blah blah blah). Anyway, I knew his comment came from the heart. He always says the nicest things to me, but doesn’t always go out of his way to compliment his sisters, so I know that one sentence meant the world to my daughter.

And now we’ve reached the holiday weekend. We did have parties tomorrow and Saturday, but due to the weather the party that was scheduled for tomorrow rescheduled to Saturday. I am kind of happy about it since this gives me a while day to focus on organizing my house. Does it sound fun? No way! But I have friends staying here to watch my pets and my house while we’re on vacation. I’d at least like to pretend I’m organized and neat. Here’s to hoping I feel well enough to get a lot done.

I hope you all have a pain free Independence Day!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miss Soul
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 16:06:06

    Weather influences my pains tremendously, usually 2-3 days before the ‘main’ event.Taking additional pain meds does not work and at this point it no longer matters whether it is hot or cold outside.
    Have a blessed 4th of July!

    Reply

  2. Julie Ryan
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 17:09:21

    My Fibro definitely is affected by storms. They are my worst enemy and my most common trigger…. and they are coming today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

