Hitting a Wall with My Exhaustion

2014-06-30-sleep

I’m beyond tired. I don’t think I’ve been sleeping poorly, at least not poorly for me, meaning I haven’t been up until 2 or 3AM night after night. Yet I went into the office today and I could hardly keep my eyes open. I came home around 1pm and slept until 3pm. It wasn’t just a nap, it was a sleep so sound that I didn’t even hear the phone ring.

It’s been like this for days. I’m clearly in some sort of flare and I’m trying to fight my way through it, which doesn’t seem to be helping. Tonight, after dinner, I went to my son’s football practice and walked 3 miles on the track. I took a break at the halfway point and sat down and watched practice for about 45 minutes. Then I got off my ass and walked again.

It’s funny, I’m not really bothered when I’m walking, but when I sit down after the walk and then try and get up, everything is ridiculously stiff. My lower back goes from mild pain to intense and my hips start hurting as I walk.

It’s really starting to get on my nerves. I need to lose weight. I know I’ll probably feel somewhat better if I lose weight, yet when I try to do cardio exercise, even as simple as a brisk walk, I’m in pain. It’s very frustrating, and what’s worse is I know that I’m not going to wake up in good shape to teach my class in the morning.

I know teaching the class will help me loosen up the tight muscles, but when I’m feeling like that I don’t tend to give my toughest class. I may add in some things and watch from the sidelines to keep them motivated. I can’t stand taking it easy on them because I can’t keep up. It makes me feel like crap.

I’m also starting to feel a little stressed about the whole back to school thing. My kids need more of a schedule, though I dread the early mornings. I am looking forward to not having to be a referee for their arguments all day. I haven’t done one bit of back-to-school shopping. I haven’t even looked at the school supply lists. Usually I’m done by the beginning of August so I don’t have to think about it, but this year I’ve chosen to ignore the fact that school starts in two weeks and my kids need new shoes, school supplies and a new outfit for the first day of school.

It will all get done–hopefully sometime next week. Oh and my son’s birthday is next week and I haven’t done a damn thing for that either. I told him there will be no big party this year. He’s in middle school and I’m done. And to be honest, I’m fed up with a lot of the kids he “thinks” are his friends. They just aren’t, and I don’t want to have them here for a party. He was invited to their house, and they haven’t made one effort to be his friend so screw it! I told him have two friends sleep over, we’ll do movies and pizza and then he can get a nicer gift because I don’t have to pay for a big ass party. He seemed agreeable to the idea and I don’t have to see the moms that I don’t really like, so it works out well for everyone.

I still have to figure out what the heck we’re doing on his actual birthday, though. I will figure it out next week. Right now I’m too darn tired. I’m looking for any tips or tricks that anyone out there has for dealing with the exhaustion associated with a fibromyalgia or rheumatoid arthritis flare. Honestly, I give up trying to figure out which one it is. I’ve been diagnosed with both and for the sake of arguments, let’s just say I’m having a flare. My hips and back are very sore. My feet are swelling and I’m wiped out 24/7.

I need something to help with this darn exhaustion. I’m finding ways to deal with the pain, but there’s nothing I can do when I’m sitting there falling asleep. It’s so hard to describe to anyone who hasn’t experienced it. So I’m asking my readers for help! Help a girl out with any ideas that may have helped you 🙂

Leave a Reply

