Stressed about Football…Yep, I’m Serious

6298153034_28cf8481e0_m

I have way more important things to be worried about, but tonight I’m thinking about football. My son’s football game tomorrow, to be exact. This sports stuff is hell on me. I just want him to do well, and he does really well in the practices, but he gets nervous during the games. He’s playing against kids that are a lot bigger than him. The league allows kids that weigh 70lbs-105lbs, and my son is 76lbs. He’s not a big kid, so when he’s matched up with a bigger kid, he allows himself to get psyched out.

As a mom, I just want that one play. That one play where he knocks another player down, preferably the player carrying the ball, but I’m not fussy. He needs confidence, and I can’t give that to him. He needs to find it within himself. This parent stuff is tough!

My girls are also practicing for their Nutcracker audition next Friday evening. As crazy as this time of year gets with football games and Nutcracker rehearsals, I love it. My older daughter has been working one-on-one with a dance teacher to prepare for the audition. There aren’t a lot of prime roles for a nine-year-old, but she doesn’t dance with the lead studio in town (because I wouldn’t place her with someone who screams at her) and because of that she comes into the audition at a disadvantage.

The dance teacher is the daughter of a friend of mine, and she is just helping her with what to do during her 30 second spot where she can doing anything she want in front of the director. The audition is a bit intense. My younger daughter cried the first year, and left the stage because it was scary. There were like 80 girls on the stage being taught a combination and it was too much for her at age 5. She went back next year and she got the role of a mini mouse. She’s gung-ho to go back again this year, but her level of dance is that of a 7-year-old. She’s happy being a scurry mouse or an angel, and she’ll be fantastic at whatever she gets.

My older daughter really wants a part where she can do some ballet. Last year she got the role of a soldier and she cried because that was a “boy part.” I understood her sadness, but made her follow through with accepting whatever role she was offered. She was super shy about it, but she did ask the director for a second role, and she got to be an angel. Anyway, I’m babbling about Nutcracker, but it’s become a huge event for us the past few years.

It’s starting to get colder here in Connecticut, and my hip and leg have definitely started aching. My heating pad is out and being put to good use already. It’s funny, I’ve really spent the last few months dealing with exhaustion as my main symptom, with the occasional migraine. I forgot how the colder affected me. It’s not even that cold, but we had a damp rain today, and I was limping and I had pain shooting down my leg and into my foot.

I also had the neuoropathy symptoms again for the past few days in my hands and feet. At the moment, my right hand not only 6029721854_e19543daff_ohas the sharp pins and needles, it also feels burning hot.

With all the research I’ve been doing into Hashimoto’s prior to my appointment with the endocrinologist in October, I’ve been finding that most people with autoimmune diseases have more than one. I’ve love to hear if that’s true for you> It’s definitely true for me with rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia, Raynaud’s disease, and possibly Hashimoto’s. I also talked to a girl who mentioned that the only real way to disagnose Hashimoto’s is through a biopsy of the thyroid. I would love any insight on this.

My rheumatologist did a blood test, but it wasn’t even all the blood tests that I saw recomended on the Hashi sites. Any feedback would be great!

Leave a Reply

