And Here We Go Down Another Path…PCOS

Ovarian Cyst

Polycycstic Ovarian Syndrome. Those are words I haven’t thought about for more than 12 years. When I was struggling to get and stay pregnant, I read every possible thing I could get my hands on trying to figure out what was going wrong, why I wasn’t getting pregnant, why I kept miscarrying, etc. With my degree in WedMD in hand, I marched into my brand new reproductive endocrinologist’s office and told him that I diagnosed myself with polycystic ovarian syndrome. I expected an argument. People with PCOS are overweight. I weighed 95 pounds. He spent some time reading my records, then looked at me and said, I agree with you, but I’d like to hear why you think so.

I went through all of my symptoms. I never had a regular period from the beginning. I’d go 6 or 8 months without getting one at all. I have always had issues with what I consider excessive hair. You know…those stray hairs on your chin or the female mustache. I get them on my chin all the time, and it’s the one thing that I can remember being made fun of in high school and I will never forget that moment as long as I live. I have darker patches of skin on my under arms, and of course highly cystic ovaries.

What I didn’t have was the obesity and the insulin resistance, but this doctor focused more on my ovaries than anything else. My ovaries never completed a cycle. Instead of maturing an egg and ovulating, my body would “overcook” it and it would turn into a cyst the size of an orange, or sometimes even a grapefruit before it would painfully burst. Once we realized this, and took the control of ovulation away from my body and instead induced it with a shot, I conceived on the first try with all three babies that I have.

So why am I telling you this? The endocrinologist today said he was going to redo the thyroid tests, but that 95% of the cases, the ones that I already had done would be accurate and diagnose hypothyroidism. Just in case, he is doing the Free T3 and Free T4 to see if I’m in that 5%. He also said the previous test that I did to see if my body was producing too much cortisol was basically useless. In order for the test to be accurate, I need to take some sort of steroid at 11pm the night before the blood test, and then fast before the test. That was not done before the last one.

On a separate day, he’s testing all my male hormones, or androgens. When we discussed my hair loss, he mumbled something about male pattern baldness and I almost cried. I think because it’s along the front? I have no idea, but that was not fun to hear. I go back in 3 weeks to discuss all of this testing. I wish I could say that I felt good right now. I feel like shit. I haven’t thought about my PCOS in a very long time and he mentioned that perhaps because I’m on such a very low dose birth control, it’s not suppressing the male hormones enough. He did say there were options and things to do if any of these tests come back showing a problem. That was the one silver lining of the appointment. It wasn’t left as, “well, you just need to eat less.”

He was a very nice doctor and did seem to listen that I really am doing everything I can. I’m going to work on cutting out excess sugar. I could never cut out fruit or stuff like that, but I don’t need to have a KitKat now and then or the Ferrero Rochers that I love. I think the more I have that stuff, the more I crave it. I just hope these tests give me some answers…any answers.

The other thing that’s bothering me today (other than feeling like crap about the way I look) is that this morning, after all three of my kids missed their buses, my husband snapped that all I do is lay in bed. At 7:45 in the morning, I’m not at my best. It really helps me to sit with my heating pad and allow my body time to loosen up. And frankly, I had about ten more minutes before I had to get into the shower and be at the gym. He can drive the girls to school. Who drives them to dance, football, and picks them up when they need to stay after school? Who runs to the store when they need more pencils or a dumbass poster board that they tell me about the night before a project is do? ME! So yes, you can get off your ass and drive them to school…so he did. Did I feel guilty? Nope! Not in the least. I stayed in bed for 5 more minutes then got in the shower.

So that’s my endocrinology update. It’s a different direction than I thought we were going. I don’t know if it’s a direction at all. I’m just feeling a little lost at the moment. Hoping to regroup by tomorrow. I’ll really somehow and study up on PCOS again.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 04:19:12

    You know, I have PCOS, too. The research I’ve done lately points to a connection between it and thyroid problems. I have so many of the same problems as you, we could be twins! (Except I am overweight.). I hit menopause at 38/39, but with the PCOS it took a while to realize it. :(. Then the drs were like, “oh well, you weren’t trying to get pregnant again.” No, but it’s not normal, and I’d LIKE to know what is wrong, because I think it’s all related! One of these days someone will listen to me!

    Reply

  2. michellesiegel101
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 22:35:28

    I have Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis and Adenomyosis… and fibro, perimenopause at 40 and hysterecotomy at 45… It all just sucks! best thing is to know your body and follow up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

