Stupid Hands

wrist-pain

I shouldn’t say hands…it’s really only one hand that I’m calling stupid tonight. I’ve been in terrible pain through my right wrist for the past few hours, so much so that I was sitting here in tears and broke down and took something for pain. I’ve actually never taken pain medicine for my hand/wrist pain. What causes me to take a pain pill is usually hip and low back pain that just affects one whole side of my body. So for me to take medicine for a wrist/hand, it’s bad. I suppose I should admit that I’m partially to blame.

Last night my girls wanted me to sit down and watch a movie with them and I hate sitting still. I thought it would be a good time to knit while I was watching Pitch Perfect. I love my knitting. I’m not very good. I made scarves. I don’t really want to learn to knit anything crazy or difficult because I find knitting very relaxing. If I have to follow a difficult pattern or learn crazy stitches, it loses some of the fun. I have mastered quite a few really pretty patterns and I look for new ones that are within my capability, but it’s just something that I like to sit and do. I knit throughout the movie and that may be why I’m hurting so badly today. I hate to think that two hours of knitting sent me over the edge because that doesn’t bode well for my relaxing past-time.

Yesterday was rainy and cold, and I’m hoping that the weather and damp cold are factoring into my pain level. Today the weather was really beautiful; it could have been about ten degrees warmer, but the sky was a deep blue and I had an hour to sit outside with my youngest daughter while my older daughter was in a dance rehearsal. We just sat outside and talked, and enjoyed the sunshine. I don’t do that enough. Don’t get me wrong…I sit and rest as much as my body tells me to because the alternate sucks and I’ve learned that the hard way, but I don’t always sit outside. It was nice.

I had a bit of drama last night and today with my former friend. I find it even too exhausting to get into (although it would probably be a good read). I just am at the point where I think he needs professional help. I was told a very in-depth story last night that I just find too many holes in. I hate to not believe in people, but then this morning he also mentioned that his new love broke up with him. SO…I think he was at a very low point and needed a reason to be validated for feeling as low as he did.

My afternoon ended with me shutting him down as to restarting our friendship. I left things nicely. I just truly hate drama, but I can’t open my life back up to someone who contacts me when everyone else shuts him out, or uses me as a punching bag when he’s at his depressive lows. I have my own full plate. Anyone who knows me well knows this is not an easy thing for me. I have the terrible habit of listening to people’s issues and being a good sounding board. It’s not really a bad thing, but it sometimes becomes one sided and that’s not fun.

The other thing is I’m learning to really put myself more toward the front of my own line. My kids will always come first, but if I’m not okay and healthy, I can’t take care of them, so I need to also take care of me. This means cutting back on people who annoy me and not being anyone’s punching bag and accepting a simple “I’m sorry” the next day. We ALL have those moments where we say more than we should have or something comes out wrong. I am not saying I’ve never made a mistake and apologized for it. That’s not what I’m talking about. I’m talking about someone who uses your insecurities to make you feel horrible and then says they are sorry.

Anyway, I’m content with how it all went down. I wasn’t mean, but at the end of the day, I still like me and the decisions I made.

In my “spare time” I’ve been deep into my research of polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS). I also learned that low vitamin D (my only strange result of my last bloodwork) is also a very common symptom of PCOS. I feel like we may be on the right track, but what sucked the most is when the endocrinologist point blankly said that my RA diagnosis wasn’t going to change. I suppose I knew that, but when I was researching thyroid issues there is the symptom of joint and muscle pain, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t the tiniest bit hopeful. So now, I may be looking at an autoimmune disease and a hormonal one, that has a high link to heart disease and cancer.

I just want and need confirmation so I can start dealing with it. I need to know. I’m going to have my blood drawn on two separate days this week, but my next appointment isn’t until November 4th. I really want to call way before that and find out my test results. Would you do that? I mean how hard is it for the nurse to call me back after the doctor has seen the results? Why should I wait until November to start treatment if my hormones are way out of whack and if my insulin resistance is off…or if my cortisol level is off.

I never thought I’d be a fucking medical nightmare at 42. It’s depressing. My mind has so much it wants to body and my body can’t freakin keep up. I’m hoping tomorrow is better because I have to switch out bins of winter clothes and pack away the summer ones. It’s one of my least favorite things to do. I also plan to de-clutter the girls’ room, but that might go better on Tuesday when they aren’t around. We’ll see what the morning brings.

As always…thanks for reading!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. SeeMorrigan
    Oct 13, 2014 @ 11:25:28

    “I never thought I’d be a fucking medical nightmare at 42…”

    Amen, sister. Good for you for still pushing yourself to get a diagnosis, still looking for ways to get better – and for putting yourself first! It’s a hard habit to develop – it feels too selfish somehow, like we don’t deserve it, or didn’t earn it – but it’s absolutely true that we are supposed to include ourselves on the list of precious people we take care of. Hang in there… hugs, TGA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

