Diet: Day 2

ricecake

I survived another day. Some good news to report: the Ideal Shape vanilla shake was just as good as the chocolate one. They actually are quite filling, but today I was hungry around 4pm-5pm. You are supposed to weight 3 hours between meals, and that was a little tough tonight, but I did it. Hopefully it will get easier.

I’ve been chugging water all day as well. On Fridays I tutor a man with autism at an office for a nonprofit that works with people with disabilities. I’ve never left him alone before. I walk him to the bathroom and back, etc. With all the water I’ve been drinking, I had to get him started on a word search just so I could run to pee. I thought my stomach was going to burst.

I did forget to weigh myself today, but I’ll try and remember tomorrow. I need a starting point so I can feel encouraged if I lose some weight.

I got some tough news about my dad today. He is going in for open heart surgery to replace a valve on February 10th. It’s major surgery and he’ll be in ICU for 2 days and then in the hospital for 5 days. My dad isn’t a talker. He’s not Mr. Emotional, so it’s tough. We all got an email from my step-mother, who also included that they found another spot on her lung that they are watching. She had lung cancer a few years ago and went through surgery and chemo.

Sometimes I get upset with my family because I wish we were closer. We see each other. We love each other, but we don’t talk about emotions. My mother was the emotion person. She just exuded love and you never needed her to tell you she loved you because it was obvious, but she told you all the time anyway. I’m like that with my kids. You can never tell them you love them too much.

So I’m stressed about that. If you’re the praying type and you could spare a prayer for my dad, I’d sure appreciate it.

I had my son’s PPT today and it went very well. They are going to test him again for Auditory Processing Disorder. He had testing done three years ago, and at the time, they just told me he didn’t have it and we could rule that out, but the speech pathologist at his middle school explained today that you need to fail in two categories to get diagnosed with APD. My son failed in one category and in a second category he passed by two points, so she had concerns that this might be what’s going on.

Three years ago I researched APD and diagnosed my son with it (I’m a total Internet doctor). So when they completely ruled it out, I went in another direction, which was that he is dyslexic. His father and aunt are dyslexic, and I still think he is, but he is so in line with APD. I’m actually eager for them to do the testing. This means I’ll likely throw myself into another round of APD research.

We’re getting snow tomorrow. It’s getting a lot colder tonight. My hands are a mess. Even after 30 minutes on the heating pad, my fingertips are still ice cold. Raynaud’s is no joke. Hopefully, after I get some cleaning done, I’ll have a relaxing day of going nowhere. I can get back to my crochet blanket or some other craft project.

They haven’t canceled my daughter’s audition class yet, but we did get an email saying not to leave in the morning without checking email to see if the class is on. I’m going to say it’s doubtful. The class is about 45 minutes north of me, and they are slated to get more snow up there.

Ok, I popped an Ambien and I just finished my last “meal” of the day–a gluten free rice cake with peanut butter. I have to say, as long as I can have peanut butter every day, I might just make it through this diet. So far so good.

I’m going to end the blog for the night before I get crazy. If you’re in my neck of the woods, stay safe tomorrow in the sleet and snow.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rebekah Miller
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 02:43:26

    I hope the diet goes well for you and you find out more info about your son. My stepson Luke has some type of learning struggle/issue/problem/disorder but he hasn’t been diagnosed with anything other than depression at this point. It’s frustrating. He’s *almost* “normal” but something is off. I KNOW something is off.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

