Trigger Point Pain

trigger-points-in-fibromyalgia

Trigger Point Chart

If you have fibromyalgia, you’ve heard the term trigger point. Trigger points are the 18 spots on your body that are painful when pressed. I look at the chart of where they are and I have tenderness in most of those areas, but the top of my trapezius muscles (located on the upper back where the shoulder meets the neck) get so tight that it brings on a migraine.

Actually when I read about it online, they often call them tension headaches when they start with knotted muscles. It’s like the chicken and the egg. Do the knots start the migraine or does the migraine cause the knots? I just don’t have that answer, but what I do know is, the top of my right shoulder all the up to the base of my skull on the right side is so tight and I can’t get much relief from anything I’ve tried.

I took a muscle relaxer an hour ago and some Alleve a few hours before that. I tried a hot bath and light stretching, but I’m still here unable to see out of my right eye from the pain. This is blogging dedication, my friends. Tonight I’m blogging with one eye open.

I have one of those portable tens units. First I bought one at Target and I found it to be very helpful in loosening the tight muscle but also relieving some of the pain. I have since upgraded to a model with much more oomph! I only need to turn it on low to have an impact.

The unit runs for 30 minute sessions and has a bunch of different settings. I’ve had it going on different settings for 4 consecutive sessions. My neck is still tight, but the vibrations from the unit are enough to mask the pain quite a bit and ultimately my muscles do loosen up from it.

I’m not sure if I’m supposed to use it for this length of time, but right now, it’s the only thing helping and I can’t see what harm it can do.

People who don’t get migraines have no idea how bad they can be. I love the people that ask if I’ve tried Advil or Alleve for relief. I do use those but they barely take the edge off.

Lately I feel like my headaches are more frequent and I’m not sure if it’s the weather pattern, hormones, stress, or something else, but it’s hell. I have my peppermint essential oil (yes, people still mock me for using those, but if it helps even a little, with a headache this bad, you try it).

It sounds weird but having a migraine is a very lonely feeling on top of painful. I feel very isolated from the people I love or from doing things I enjoy. There’s no easy way to explain to your kids how bad a migraine is. I remember when I was a child, my best friend’s mom used to get migraines. When we’d sing and get loud she’d yell, “I have a migraine” and I  thought she was just trying to shut us up. Little did I know how much we were probably annoying her and making her headache far worse.

Tonight I’m frustrated with my headache because it’s not going away. Today is day 2 and I just want to go to sleep and wake up headache free. I’ll say a little prayer, but I’m not getting my hopes up.

Until tomorrow…

 

Leave a Reply

